Fortune: A Novel

Fortune: A Novel

by Lenny Bartulin

Hardcover

$25.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on February 16, 2021

Overview

An audacious, entertaining historical epic spanning continents and centuries, for readers of David Mitchell, Colum McCann, Kate Atkinson, and Eleanor Catton.

Fortune is a dazzling, endlessly surprising historical novel that opens the day Napoleon leads his victorious Grande Armée into Berlin after having conquered Prussia in battle. As crowds throng the streets to witness the emperor in his glory, a handful of lives that briefly touch are sprung from their orbits and set on courses that will take them across Europe and around the world—their fates and desires sometimes intersecting—to strange lands in the Caribbean and South America, the Australian continent and Van Diemen's Land, and back to a Europe now transformed.

A frustrated general in Napoleon's army, billeted with one of Berlin's finest families. Elisabeth, a passionate young woman living in that house. The young man with whom she locks eyes through a window as he's engaged in a sexual encounter at the moment Napoleon makes his grand entrance. An entrepreneur in New World exotica, whose house is the setting for the tryst. A slave from Suriname, Mr. Hendrik, with his resentful white American companion, who have traveled to Berlin to sell a barrel of electric eels for their master. And a lost soul enamored of philosophy in the coffeehouses where students gather, who decides to join Mr. Hendrik and the American on their return voyage.

Through their stories amid war, cataclysm, colliding cultures, and misadventure, Lenny Bartulin imagines the ways that chance and the grand events of history shape the course of ordinary lives.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781951627294
Publisher: Arcade
Publication date: 02/16/2021
Pages: 312
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

Lenny Bartulin is the author of four previous novels published in Australia, including his Sydney Noir Trilogy. His novel Infamy was longlisted for the 2015 Tasmanian Premier's Literary Awards, the Tasmania Book Prize, and the Margaret Scott Prize. In 2010, The Black Russian, the second novel in his Sydney Noir Trilogy, was shortlisted in the Ned Kelly Awards for Best Novel. Fortune is his American debut. He has lived in Sydney and the Blue Mountains, and currently resides in Hobart with his wife and son.

Customer Reviews