Foundations of Funk - A Brand New Bag: 1964-1969

Foundations of Funk - A Brand New Bag: 1964-1969

by James Brown

CD(German Import)

$12.39 $13.99 Save 11% Current price is $12.39, Original price is $13.99. You Save 11%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, October 2 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Foundations of Funk - A Brand New Bag: 1964-1969

There are several worthy James Brown compilations. But this is the one, more than any other, that presents his most fertile and innovative soul and funk material. From 1964's "Out of Sight" through 1969's "Mother Popcorn," this was Brown at the apex of his creativity, turning soul into funk in the mid-'60s, then pushing the rhythm even more to the forefront. Most of his hit singles from this five-year explosion of white heat are on this 27-track, two-CD set, including "Out of Sight," "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag," "I Got You (I Feel Good)," "Say It Loud--I'm Black and I'm Proud," and "Cold Sweat." There are some minor omissions that could be questioned (the absence of the studio version of "Bring It Up," for instance), and big James Brown fans will already have the lion's share of tracks, on the Star Time box and other releases. It does, however, contain minor but significant bonuses: an alternate take of "Cold Sweat," a previously unreleased live medley of "Out of Sight" and "Bring It Up," and a previously unreleased live version of "Licking Stick--Licking Stick." There are also longer versions of "I Don't Want Nobody to Give Me Nothing" (ten minutes!), "I Got the Feelin'," "The Popcorn," and "Brother Rapp" that were edited when they were prepared for official release.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/19/1996
Label: Polydor / Umgd
UPC: 0731453116528
catalogNumber: 531165
Rank: 24511

Album Credits

Performance Credits

James Brown   Primary Artist,Organ
St. Clair Pinckney   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Background Vocals
Pee Wee Ellis   Organ,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Background Vocals
Maceo Parker   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Background Vocals
Sam Fan Thomas   Bass
Bobby Byrd   Organ
Buie   Guitar
"Brisco" Clark   Tenor Saxophone
Joseph Davis   Trumpet
Tim Drummond   Bass
Richard "Kush" Griffith   Trumpet
Haywood Henry   Baritone Saxophone
Timothy Hedding   Organ
Nat Jones   Drums,Alto Saxophone
Waymon Reed   Trumpet,Background Vocals
Eddie Setser   Guitar
John Starks   Drums
Clyde Stubblefield   Drums,Vocals
Ron Tooley   Trumpet
James Tyrell   Bass
Teddy Washington   Trumpet
Fred Wesley   Trombone,Background Vocals
McKinley Johnson   Trumpet
Wallace Richardson   Guitar
Melvin Parker   Drums,Background Vocals
Alphonso "Country" Kellum   Bass,Guitar,Background Vocals
Jimmy Nolen   Guitar,Background Vocals
Joe Dupars   Trumpet
Bernard Odum   Bass
Levi Rasbury   Valve Trombone,Background Vocals,Master of Ceremonies
Sweet Charles Sherrell   Bass,Background Vocals
Eldee Williams   Tenor Saxophone,Background Vocals
Beau Dollar Bowman   Drums
Alvin "Fats" Gonder   Organ
Charles Carr   Baritone Saxophone
Art Lopez   Conga,Background Vocals
Dicky Harris   Trombone

Technical Credits

James Brown   Composer,Producer
Pee Wee Ellis   Composer
Panama Francis   Contributor
Ron Lenhoff   Engineer
Bill Levenson   Executive Producer
Clyde Stubblefield   Contributor
Harry Weinger   Liner Notes
Alan Leeds   Liner Notes
Gary N. Mayo   Contributor
Bernard Odum   Contributor
Alvin "Fats" Gonder   Contributor
Bud Hobgood   Composer
Ted Wright   Composer
Alfred Ellis   Composer
Charles Bobbit   Composer
David Harrison   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews