The Four Stages of Rabbinic Judaism / Edition 1

The Four Stages of Rabbinic Judaism / Edition 1

by Jacob Neusner
Pub. Date:
Taylor & Francis

Paperback - Rent for

Select a Purchase Option (New Edition)
  • purchase options
    $40.38 $47.95 Save 16% Current price is $40.38, Original price is $47.95. You Save 16%.
  • purchase options


The Four Stages of Rabbinic Judaism / Edition 1

This concise volume provides a lucid introduction to the genesis and development of Rabbinic Judaism.
Jacob Neusner outlines and examines the four stages in which the initial period of the historical development of Rabbinic Judaism divides, beginning with the Pentateuch and ending with its definitive and normative statement in the Talmud of Babylonia. He traces the development of Rabbinic Judaism by exploring the relationships between and among the cognate writings which embody its formative history.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780415195317
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
Publication date: 06/21/1999
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.55(d)

Table of Contents


1. The Pentateuchal Stage

2. From Scripture to the Mishnah

3. The Mishnah on Its Own: The Initial Statement

4. The Mishnah in Pentateuchal Context: Continuity and Change

5. The Talmuds: The Conclusive


6. The Talmuds in Pentateuchal Context: Israel in History

Acknowledgments and Bibliography


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews