Fourteen Communion Sermons

Fourteen Communion Sermons

by Samuel Rutherford, Andrew Bonar

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details



ALL who relish “Samuel Rutherford’s Letters” will welcome the reprint of this volume, entitled, when first printed, “Collection of Valuable Sermons Preached by him at Sacramental Occasions, in the years 1630, 1634, and 1637.” I have added two discourses to the collection, one preached in 1630, and another in 1633, and also what is commonly called a Communion Address, delivered in London.

All breathe the same spirit as the famous “Letters,” and are full of racy remark and illustration, bearing on scriptural doctrine and Christian experience.

The Sermons were not published by himself, but from the notes of hearers, and so there are some awkward sentences and clauses. But still they are exceedingly valuable. The first nine sermons were originally printed at Glasgow, “from an old manuscript.” The rest have frequently appeared in various forms. A Sermon, which bears the title, “The Cruel Watchman,” and a fragment, “Christ’s Voice from Heaven,” are not genuine, and so are not included in this collection. His only other Sermons are that on Luke 8:22, preached before the House of Commons, 1644, and that on Daniel 6:26, preached before the House of Lords, 1645.

GLASGOW, 1876.
Preface to the Second Edition

THE first issue of two thousand copies has been sold off within a year. In the meantime, two more of S. Rutherford’s Sacramental Sermons have been sent to the Editor by friends who had them in their possession, and were happy to offer this addition to the First Twelve. They are given in this volume.

GLASGOW, 1877.

CrossReach Publications

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156190447
Publisher: CrossReach Publications
Publication date: 11/20/2018
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
File size: 2 MB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews