Franklin D. Roosevelt: The Making of America #5

Franklin D. Roosevelt: The Making of America #5

by Teri Kanefield
Franklin D. Roosevelt: The Making of America #5

Franklin D. Roosevelt: The Making of America #5

by Teri Kanefield


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 5
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Award-winning author Teri Kanefield’s biography of Franklin D. Roosevelt for young readers is the inspiring story of one of America’s greatest presidents.

The fifth book in the Making of America series, Franklin D. Roosevelt examines the life of America’s 32nd president: his birth into one of America’s elite families, his domineering mother, his marriage to Eleanor Roosevelt, his struggle with polio, and his political career.

A Democrat, Roosevelt (1882–1945) won a record of four presidential elections and is the longest-serving US president. During his time in office, he led the country through the Great Depression and World War II and helped to redefine the role of the US government with the New Deal. Scholars often rate him as one of the three greatest presidents, along with George Washington and Abraham Lincoln. The book includes black-and-white archival images, plus selections from FDR’s writings in addition to endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.

The Making of America series:
Alexander Hamilton (#1)
Andrew Jackson (#2)
Abraham Lincoln (#3)
Susan B. Anthony (#4)
Franklin D. Roosevelt (#5)
Thurgood Marshall (#6)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781419734021
Publisher: Abrams Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 10/08/2019
Series: The Making of America , #5
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 368,153
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 10 - 14 Years

About the Author

Teri Kanefield is a lawyer and the author of The Girl from the Tar Paper School, The Extraordinary Suzy Wright, the Making of America series, and more. Her awards include the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award and the Carter G. Woodson Book Award. She lives in San Luis Obispo on the central California coast.

Table of Contents

Prologue: America Under Attack 1

1 Always Bright and Happy 8

2 Anna Eleanor Roosevelt 24

3 Entering Politics 42

4 Assistant Secretary of the Navy 61

5 The Great War 76

6 Trial by Fire 94

7 The Great Depression 115

8 A New Deal 129

9 Action, and Action New 139

10 A Switch in Time Saves Nine 161

11 The Second World War 180

12 Back to the Hudson 199

13 Afterward 214

14 Legacy 217

Selected Writings of Franklin D. Roosevelt 220

Timeline 225

Notes 229

Bibliography 242

Acknowledgements 244

Index 245


San Luis Obispo, CA

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews