Frannie and Tru

Frannie and Tru

by Karen Hattrup

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, September 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup

“Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse.” Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Perfect for fans of Prep and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Frannie and Tru is a dazzling YA debut about a transformative summer in the life of a girl whose idol is not what he seems.

Frannie has always idolized her cousin Tru. At seventeen, Tru is charismatic, rich, charming—everything fifteen-year-old Frannie wants to be, and everything she’s not. So when Frannie overhears her parents saying that after a bad coming-out experience Tru will be staying with them in Baltimore for the summer, Frannie is excited and desperate to impress him. But as Frannie gets swept up in Tru’s worldly way of life, she starts to worry that it may all be a mask Tru wears to hide a dark secret. And if Tru isn’t the person Frannie thought he was, what does that mean for the new life she has built with him?

Confronting issues of race, class, and sexuality, Karen Hattrup weaves a powerful coming-of-age story that’s at once timeless and immediate, sharply observed, and recognizable to anyone who has ever loved the idea of a person more than the reality.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062410207
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/31/2016
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 1,295,909
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: HL790L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Frannie and Tru 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
KathyMacMillan More than 1 year ago
A beautiful, literary coming-of-age story about a young girl opening her eyes to the wider world around her. Fifteen-year-old Frannie Little is prepared for the summer after her freshman year of high school to be a total disaster – she’s going to a new school in the fall, drifting away from her old friends, and her father’s work situation means her family is running out of money. But then her troubled, charming, two-years-older cousin Truman comes to stay for the summer, a refugee from his Connecticut prep school life. Frannie connects with Tru more than she has ever connected her own older brothers, and tagging along with him becomes a lesson in opening up to new experiences. The story is steeped in its Baltimore City setting, and Hattrup uses city landmarks to play against the themes of the story. Questions of race and class bubble up throughout, seen through the lens of Frannie awakening to the realities of how her experiences differ from those of her African American friends. Frannie is a quiet, thoughtful protagonist, blossoming slowly into a confident, self-aware young woman. More than anything, the push and pull of Frannie and Tru’s relationship – troubled and close and caring and contentious all at once – is a pitch-perfect portrayal of those seminal friendships that only seem possible in the throes of adolescence.
Laura_at_125Pages More than 1 year ago
Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup was so much. Like, it’s actually hard to put into words the full depth of this story. A classic coming of age tale narrated by a teen girl, Frannie, who longs to experience the world. She gets that chance when her older cousin Tru comes to stay with the family one summer. Declaring herself his sidekick, she tags along on a journey of self discovery and discovers that the world may not be what she thought, but that it also has much more to offer than she realized. Frannie and Tru was very rich. Seeing the world through Frannie’s young eyes, the plot took on a richness that I don’t normally see. The daily facets of life took on a fresh sheen and I loved how the focus remained true throughout. Karen Hattrup wrote with a gentleness that is not often seen. She was nuanced and wrote with a very consistent tone. I had a few small issues with the pacing where the story jumped a bit too far, but it did not hamper my enjoyment. The world built was nicely detailed and had many small touches that made it real. The emotions ran high, as any tale told by a teen girl is seen through her emotional filter. I loved most of the characters. Frannie was sweet and gentle, Tru had his issues but really cared deep down. The adults, however, were sadly typical YA awful. Frannie and Tru made me feel so much during the reading. I really connected with the narrator and loved the journey she took me on. Karen Hattrup crafted a read that I enjoyed cover to cover. This is her debut and I can only see great things in her future. Hattrup is an author to watch and Frannie and Tru is quite a first effort. Original review @ 125Pages.com I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.