Freaks of the Industry

Freaks of the Industry

by Adam Novak

Paperback

$14.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23

Overview


In the tradition of Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves and P.T. Anderson's Magnolia, Adam Novak explores the city of angels and demons in his third novel Freaks of the Industry.

Studio executive Rodney Muir quits the business after a prostitution scandal and returns home to Washington, DC where he falls for two women, the unhappy wife of a diplomat who harbors a dark secret and a federal agent investigating a Starbucks triple homicide who uncovers a White House conspiracy that threatens them all.

Low-budget horror filmmaker Thør Rosenthal gets a shot at the big time when homeless junkie turned Oscar-winning movie star Antwon Legion agrees to star in his desert thriller about a carpenter named Jesus investigating a serial killer stalking Mary Magdalene in Golgotha. The only problem is the movie star playing the messiah might be the Anti-Christ.

Larry Mersault works at the oldest talent agency in Hollywood as the script reader for Antwon Legion. Juggling the insatiable daughter of the agency chairman with endless script coverage requests, Larry is ordered to assassinate Legion by the chairman and break up with his daughter, forcing the reader to choose between a career he loves and the people he loves the most.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781945572067
Publisher: Rare Bird Books
Publication date: 07/11/2017
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 758,352
Product dimensions: 4.90(w) x 7.80(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author


Adam Novak is the author of the novels The Non-Pro and Take Fountain. He lives and writes in Los Angeles.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher


“It’s brilliant. The language is astonishing, the energy of imagination is unflagging, the wit cruel and precise. Every sentence is a pleasure to read.”
Henry Bean, writer of Internal Affairs

Praise for Take Fountain

"Adam Novak has a merciless eye for a society in which striving replaces every consideration of morality."
Michael Tolkin, author of The Player

"A dark, unforgettable tour inside the belly of the Hollywood beast. Novak knows this world, and it shows."
D. B. Weiss, cocreator of HBO's Game of Thrones

"Wonderfully written from someone on the inside, lots to learn about how the business of Hollywood works."
Mike Medavoy, producer of Black Swan

"Take Fountain brings to Hollywood a slit-wrist wit that invokes the best of Bruce Wagner, with a sweetness in the darkest corners that calls to mind the late, lamented John O'Brien, but Novak's voice is all his own."
Jerry Stahl, author of Old Guy Dad and Permanent Midnight

"A twisty detour off Sunset Boulevard, Take Fountain is a fast-moving ride through the heart of heartless Hollywood, where green lights are for winners, and Paramount's just a dreamer's drive-on away. For all those creative execs bored out of their collective wits at Comic-Con and constantly haranguing us to find the next Big Knife, Sweet Smell of Success, The Legend of Lylah Clare or similar acid-laced, nihilistic fare that postulates we're all just dog food—this one's a definite recommend—with appealing roles for our actors—especially that guy from Wild Side." —Lem Dobbs, screenwriter of The Limey

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews