Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Freaky in Fresno

Freaky in Fresno

by Laurie Boyle Crompton

Narrated by Madison Lawrence

Unabridged — 8 hours, 16 minutes

Laurie Boyle Crompton
Freaky in Fresno

Freaky in Fresno

by Laurie Boyle Crompton

Narrated by Madison Lawrence

Unabridged — 8 hours, 16 minutes

Laurie Boyle Crompton

Audiobook (Digital)

$24.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $24.99

Overview

Influencers. Movie nerds. Beauty queens. And one pink convertible.

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to spend a day in her shoes? Two estranged cousins—geeky horror movie fanatic Ricki and makeup guru Lana—accidentally switch bodies for a fateful summer road trip that is part Freaky Friday, part romcom, and all heart.

Ricki has one goal: save the Starlight Drive-In movie theater from going dark forever. Okay, make that two goals...she may also want a first kiss from her cinema-rescuing partner and major crush, Jake. Lana definitely has only one goal: grow her online makeup channel to keep her momager off her back, even if the posts attract ugly internet trolls.

Ricki wants the convertible for the drive-in's grand reopening, but it's the same day as Digifest, a huge event where Lana needs to shine. After a major fight and a minor electric shock while wrestling over the wheel, Ricki wakes up as Lana, and Lana wakes up as Ricki.

Ricki and Lana have only a day to un-Freaky Friday themselves, a task made even more difficult as they try to keep up appearances on Lana's channel and with Ricki's hopefully soon-to-be-kissed crush. But it turns out experiencing a day as each other—with a mini road trip and Chihuahua wrangling—may be the one thing that helps the cousins see each other and themselves more clearly.

Freaky in Fresno:

  • Addresses perennial topics such as the importance of family and friendship with a hilarious Freaky Friday twist
  • Pays homage to beloved '80s movies, cult horror classics, and scream queens like Jamie Lee Curtis
  • Is written by Laurie Boyle Crompton, author of Pretty in Punxsutawney
  • Is perfect for fans of Mary Rodgers and Morgan Matson


Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal

12/01/2019

Gr 8 Up—Ricki and her cousin Lana have nothing in common, but when a freak accident in a classic convertible causes them to switch bodies, they learn more about each other than they expected and are forced to work together. Ricki is a horror movie fanatic, working with her would-be boyfriend Jake to help restore the Starlight Drive-In Theater to its former glory—and to get a magical first kiss under the stars at the grand opening. Lana hopes to build her celebrity status at DigiFest, where her manager mom has booked her an appearance to promote her online makeup empire. Their Aunt May, hoping to reunite the girls, gifts them a classic pink convertible, which they must share, but the car only creates more dissension as each of them wants to use it at their big event that night. The car, however, has secrets of its own. The action moves quickly, taking place over just 24 hours, and is peppered with humorous dialogue alongside Ricki's laughable attempts at mastering makeup, the antics of her ferocious chihuahua and her Aunt May's wolf pups, and by the pranks pulled by Lana's sidekick and possible boyfriend, Eric. The girls' re-transformation is a bit sudden and puzzling, but results in a cinematically perfect resolution for all. VERDICT A fun rom-com with strong family themes that will introduce middle grade and YA readers to Freaky Friday, Jamie Lee Curtis, classic horror films, and the pressures endured by social media celebrities.—MaryAnn Karre, Binghamton, NY

Product Details

BN ID: 2940173834041
Publisher: Blink
Publication date: 06/03/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews