Freedom Book [Bonus Track]

Freedom Book [Bonus Track]

by Booker ErvinBooker Ervin


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


In some ways tenor saxophonist Booker Ervin was the archetypal jazz player for the post-bop 1960s, combining the tradition of Texas sax with just the hint of edgy modernism, a sort of the Delta-meets-Morocco sound so accessible that it is easy to miss the chances Ervin took with his music. Although his career was short (cancer claimed him in the summer of 1970 when he was just shy of his 40th birthday), Ervin still managed to record some 20 albums as a frontman, most notably his "book" series, The Song Book, The Blues Book, The Space Book, and this fine session, The Freedom Book, which finds him working with a rhythm section of Jaki Byard on piano, Richard Davis on bass, and Alan Dawson on drums. Recorded on December 3, 1963, The Freedom Book is a near perfect set of modern hard bop, ranging just far enough out there to feel fresh but retaining a strong lifeline to bop tradition. Highlights of the session include an impressive Ervin original, "A Lunar Tune," a fine version of Randy Weston's "Cry Me Not," the deliberately strident "Al's In," and another Ervin composition, the moving "A Day to Mourn," an emotionally charged ballad written after the assassination of JFK. The bonus track, an interesting and brief treatment of Victor Young's "Stella by Starlight," a piece strongly associated with Charlie Parker, was recorded at the Freedom Book session but was originally released on the album Groovin' High. It fits perfectly here, capping off a wonderful album.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/01/2007
Label: Prestige
UPC: 0888072301603
catalogNumber: 30160
Rank: 72039


  1. A Lunar Tune
  2. Cry Me Not
  3. Grant's Stand
  4. A Day to Mourn
  5. Al's In
  6. Stella by Starlight

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Booker Ervin   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone
Richard Davis   Bass
Alan Dawson   Drums
Jaki Byard   Piano

Technical Credits

Booker Ervin   Composer
Randy Weston   Composer
Rudy Van Gelder   Engineer,Liner Notes
Nick Phillips   Reissue Producer
Don Schlitten   Producer,Cover Design
Ned Washington   Composer
Victor Young   Composer
David Himmelstein   Liner Notes,Original Liner Notes
Neil Tesser   Liner Notes
Stuart Kremsky   Reissue Production Assistance
Chris Clough   Reissue Production Assistance

Customer Reviews