Freight Train and Other North Carolina Folk Songs

Freight Train and Other North Carolina Folk Songs

by Elizabeth Cotten

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Recorded in 1957 and early 1958 by Mike Seeger, Freight Train and Other North Carolina Folk Songs and Tunes collects the influential debut sides cut by a then-62-year-old Elizabeth Cotten; even decades after their first release, they remain a veritable primer in the art of finger-picked style guitar playing. The quaint, homespun quality of the material -- much of it recorded at Cotten's home with her grandchildren looking on in silence -- adds immensely to its intimacy and warmth; the sound quality varies wildly from track to track, but the amazing instrumental work shines through regardless on tracks like the opening "Wilson Rag" and the now-standard "Freight Train."

Product Details

Release Date: 03/01/2019
Label: Smithsonian Folkways
UPC: 0093070352612
catalogNumber: 703526


  1. Wilson Rag
  2. Freight Train
  3. Going Down the Road Feeling Bad
  4. I Don't Love Nobody
  5. Ain't Got No Honey Baby Now
  6. Graduation March
  7. Honey Babe Your Papa Cares for You
  8. Vastopol
  9. Here Old Rattler Here/Sent for My Fiddle Sent for My Bow/George Buck
  10. Run...Run/Mama Your Son Done Gone
  11. Sweet Bye and Bye/What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  12. Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie
  13. Spanish Flang Dang
  14. When I Get Home

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews