Fresh Flesh

Fresh Flesh

by Todd Russell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

With Fresh Flesh, Todd Russell weaves a fast-paced, full-length psychological thriller, horror debut novel. Fans of Stephen King, Edgar Allan Poe, Robert McCammon and Rod Serling will experience the author's admiration for these skilled masters through the eyes of tortured characters and an eerie, mysterious plot. The detailed cover art was drawn by International Horror Guild winning artist Aeron Alfrey and horrifically renders the creepiest island on earth.

. . . FRESH . . .

The ocean surrounds the secret.

Last night a wicked storm swept a beautiful sacrifice onto the shore. Shipwrecked Jessica Stanton is about to be discovered, cherished, and trained to survive on a remote island by a man who is not what he seems.

There is a place on earth where unrestrained evil flourishes.

. . . FLESH . . .

Welcome home, Jessica.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013324008
Publisher: Todd Russell
Publication date: 09/28/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Todd Russell loves reading and writing scary stories. He lives in the small city of Orting, Washington overlooking the beautiful, active and deadly, Mount Rainier. Mental Shrillness, a collection of horror twist ending short stories, is his first book. It is available on Barnes & Noble in paperback and NOOK book.

His debut novel, a psychological thriller horror story entitled Fresh Flesh was published September 29, 2011.

He is working on several other books.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fresh Flesh 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
honoliipali on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another great free novel from Librarything. I love their member giveaways that help me to discover new authors through reading their debut novels. I am not generally a horror reader but this book has opened my eyes to how good they can be.Fresh Flesh is a good, actually great. debut novel. It is a horror story that kept me anxious for more of the story. I liked almost all of the story. The only part that seemed unnecessary was the parts dealing with the dirt. The dirt was a minor player throughout the story (Sar's part) that I felt the ending tried too hard to incorporate the dirt as an integral part of the story.I enjoyed the characters and the flashbacks that described their past transgressions and why they were on the island. This writing style allowed for more depth and understanding of the characters and made them more interesting. I did find the ending to be a bit sad as I was pulling for the main character.Mr Russell has talent and has done well in his first novel outing. He has gone the extra mile to have beta readers, proof readers, has paid for sleeve art, etc. This book is recommended for all and especially for horror genre fans.
Spiceca on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Quite a good story. I was pleased that I was never quite able to figure any parts out. The back stories for each "character" was jarring but in a good and creepy way. A newer take on human nature at its darker heart. Recommended for those who enjoy horror with a strong psychological take.
sealford on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After the first few pages, I wasn't that thrilled with the story. However, I had a gut feeling that I would not be able to put it down if I continued to read more. I was right. Once I started to learn the story behind the main characters, I was sucked into the island with the rest of them. The descriptions were awesome, and the story had a good concept to it. The ending was somewhat bittersweet, but being more of a horror story, it makes sense. I'll definitely have this story in the back of my mind for quite some time, disturbing as that may be. Coming from me, a self-proclaimed lover of horror, that is the epitome of a compliment.
SomethingSomething on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fresh Flesh is not the type of book I would normally read, and I'm glad I gave it a chance.This book is about an island 'experiment' where condemned prisoners are sent instead of the gas chamber. The island itself has quite a few secrets of its own to share with the men who have been sent there. The place just reeks of evil.By chance (or maybe not?) Jessica Stanton, a wealthy woman on a cruise with her husband aboard their yacht, has been shipwrecked on the island. It is up to Richard Templin, the one death row inmate who hasn't been completely warped by life on the island, to save her. First from himself, then from the other inhabitants of the island and, finally, from the island itself.We are given plenty of back story when we need it and discover how and why the main characters in this story have become what they are. The book is suspenseful and interesting and the premise is original. I have to say that I enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who likes suspense and/or horror.Note: I was given a copy of Fresh Flesh in exchange for an honest review.
CynDaVaz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I won this book on Library Thing and enjoyed it a lot. It's so much fun to discover 'new' talent. The writing was good, the characters interesting. There was one character in particular that I felt probably didn't really need to be there, unless he could have been given some more attention. I'm not sure if there was supposed to be a supernatural element going on as well, as that part wasn't completely 'fleshed' out (no pun intended). Perhaps it will be explored in the follow-up book. Recommended.
LeleliaSky on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I won this book as a free read, and I am kind of torn about how to write this review. I enjoyed the storyline of the island and the workings of dark natures coming out in the wild. But, the government part was kind of silly. Overall, worth the read.
DoskoiPanda on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
With a name like Fresh Flesh, I must admit that I was expecting a zombie story. Instead, Fresh Flesh is a modernised pulp novel, possibly best described as a cross between Battle Royale, Lord of the Flies and the Texas Chainsaw Massacre. And possibly a bit of Lost as well. A wealthy man and his wife are sailing towards Hawaii when their ship capsized, resulting in the death of almost everyone on board. The wife washes up on the shore of an island and is tended to by a man named Richard, who has been trapped on the island for several years. But they aren't alone on the island, and the island has secrets.(But not zombie secrets. Just government project ones.)In a surprising move for an action based novel, I could follow every move, and keep a clear image of what was happening where (usually it's a bit jumbled). The characters are a bit simplified, but that may be why things were so easy to follow. Descriptions are detailed without being ridiculous, and just enough background is offered on the islanders. The woman in the tale, however, is kind of irritating in that she is flat - her reactions just don't ring true most of the time. I also found the government scenes very hokey, but not out of keeping with other pulp fiction I've read.While I can't really say that I enjoyed it - the characters were too thin for me to start caring about what happened to them - it is a pretty good story, if you like this genre.about 3.5 starsReview copy received from the author a part of Librarything's Member Giveaway Program.
donniedarkogirl More than 1 year ago
I couldn't breathe normally while reading this book. The pacing and buildup of suspense was done in such a way to make you question your own sanity. It was written so well with the language used in such a way as to awaken your fears and make you want to hide under the covers and/or leave your light on all night. I opted for hiding under my covers. ;) Deliciously terrifying and mysterious, the book was so surprising, which kept me turning the pages. It wasn't anything like I was expecting, and I loved it. I never wanted the story to end. The characters were such a motley crew--people you definitely wouldn't want to meet down a dark alley! The more I learned about them, the more frightening they turned out to be. Even the location of the story is frightening! I'm thrilled to see the author is writing a second "flesh" book. I'm definitely getting my hands on that one! I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through a read and review group on Goodreads.
honoliipali More than 1 year ago
Another great free novel from Librarything. I love their member giveaways that help me to discover new authors through reading their debut novels. I am not generally a horror reader but this book has opened my eyes to how good they can be. Fresh Flesh is a good, actually great. debut novel. It is a horror story that kept me anxious for more of the story. I liked almost all of the story. The only part that seemed unnecessary was the parts dealing with the dirt. The dirt was a minor player throughout the story (Sar's part) that I felt the ending tried too hard to incorporate the dirt as an integral part of the story. I enjoyed the characters and the flashbacks that described their past transgressions and why they were on the island. This writing style allowed for more depth and understanding of the characters and made them more interesting. I did find the ending to be a bit sad as I was pulling for the main character. Mr Russell has talent and has done well in his first novel outing. He has gone the extra mile to have beta readers, proof readers, has paid for sleeve art, etc. This book is recommended for all and especially for horror genre fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago