Fresh Up Club

Fresh Up Club

by Elizabeth McQueen & the FireBrands


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Fresh Up Club

This album is just a touch of country, a touch of pop, and a teaspoon of rock, bringing to mind early Linda Ronstadt on the opening "I Don't Wanna Stop." It's a safe yet toe-tapping beginning that also has a barroom band feel. When she opts for the slower country ballads à la Patsy Cline, such as "Love Minus One," it comes off a bit forced with mixed results. But later on during "I Don't Know Why," she lets the song run its course to a slower, slow-dance tempo. She fares much better on the stronger "Lyin," a track that has ample swing to it. Thankfully the slightly rowdy "Heaven Sent" is more pleasing with a fuller roadhouse country sound. Venturing into various country styles, Elizabeth McQueen is afraid to try new ideas out, especially with "You Shouldn't Have," which brings to mind a cross between Sheryl Crow and Mary Chapin Carpenter. But the jazz-tinged "The Oldest Story" doesn't work as well and is more like a lounge-lizard effort. A cover of Chuck Berry's "Thirty Days" is a rambling rockabilly tune that resembles Neko Case or Carolyn Mark. Possibly the sleeper on the album is the murky Southern soul and rock of "Drive Alright," making it the highlight of the record. However, the bouncy Attractions-era keyboard on "I Know I Cross His Mind" makes it another great tune. It's a strong album that definitely shows McQueen has promise.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/22/2003
UPC: 0678572945625
catalogNumber: 1001

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Elizabeth McQueen & the FireBrands   Primary Artist
David Beebe   Organ
David Sanger   Percussion,Drums
George Sanger   Trombone,Trumpet
Chris Miller   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar
Stewart Cochran   Organ
Landis Armstrong   Electric Guitar
Casper Rawls   Electric Guitar
Jim "Miracle" Murphy   Lap Steel Guitar
Wendy Mitchell   Group Member
Brian Smith   Drums
Elizabeth McQueen   Vocal Harmony
Sarah Bloomquist   Group Member
Lynn Boland   Group Member
David Conley   Group Member
Clay Crenshaw   Group
Tariq Ahmed Elseewi   Group Member
B. "World" Freedom   Bass
Andrew Gerfers   Drums
David Goerlita   Group Member
Sinan Goktepeli   Group Member
Lindsay Greene   Bass,Background Vocals,Upright Bass,Vocal Harmony
Mike Lavigne   Group Member
David Lazaroff   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Katherine McQueen   Group Member
Monthlies   Vocals
Alison Mote   Group Member
Andrew Nafziger   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
John Michael Whitby   Organ,Piano,Electric Piano,Clavinet

Technical Credits

Chuck Berry   Composer
David Sanger   Engineer
J.J. Campbell   Illustrations
Robbie Fulks   Composer
Conrad Choucroun   Composer
Chris Burns   Engineer
Stephen Brauchli   Original Cover Photography
Clay Crenshaw   Tray Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews