Fringe-ology: How I Tried to Explain Away the Unexplainable-And Couldn't

Fringe-ology: How I Tried to Explain Away the Unexplainable-And Couldn't

by Steve Volk

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 21

Overview

“Fringe-Ologybrings a poet’s eye to the frayed edges between the known and unknown, beliefand skepticism. . . . A dive into the paranormal even a hardcore skeptic like myselfcan enjoy.” —Mat Johnson, author of Pym

Takea strange and unsettling trip into the heart of the paranormal universe asjournalist Steve Volk tries to answer some of the most fundamental questions atthe heart of human existence. Fringe-ology will appeal to anyone curiousbut cautious about reports of paranormal experiences, psychic phenomena, andother unexplainable events—anyone who has ever wondered about the existence anafterlife, intelligent life on other planets, or the limits of extrasensoryperception. For fans of Fringe, Mythbusters,Medium, Heroes, Nova, and Lost, Volk’sscintillating journey into mystery illuminates the furthest boundaries ofpossibility and wonder.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061857720
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/05/2012
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 7.82(h) x 0.79(d)

About the Author

STEVE VOLK is a longtime staff writer and regular contributor at Philadelphia magazine. His work has been published by Rolling Stone, VIBE, Men's Health, Men's Journal, Philadelphia, Philadelphia Weekly, The Philadelphia Inquirer, and St. Petersburg Times. Volk has received dozens of journalism awards and lives in Philadelphia. Visit the author online at www.stevevolk.com.

Table of Contents

Introduction: What We Talk About When We Talk About the Paranormal 1

1 On Death and Not Dying 21

The Provocative Beginning of Near-Death-Experience Research

2 Do You See What I See? 53

The Curious Conflict Between Telepathy Skeptics and Believers

3 Out of Our Heads? Off with Their Heads! 83

Consciousness Outside the Brain

4 Blazing Saddles 113

UPOs and the Strange Lights Over a Texas Town

5 Was There a Ghost in My House? 139

The Unexplained Noises That Fueled a Childhood Mystery

6 To Infinity and Beyond 153

What Science and Spirituality Look Like from Outer Space

7 The Open Mind 177

How New Science Is Revealing the Power of Meditation and Prayer

8 The Impossible Dream 205

Sleep as an Untapped Resource for an Awakened Life

9 After-Death Communication? 233

How a New Therapy Uses the Dead to Help Patients Live

10 You Can't Go Home Again 251

Has Anyone Else Encountered a Ghost in My Old House?

11 Our Time in Hell 255

Lucid Dreaming and its Most Potent Lesson for Science and Spirituality

Acknowledgments 267

Notes and Sources 269

Index 313

Customer Reviews