From Bessie to Brazil

From Bessie to Brazil

by Susannah McCorkle


$9.78 $11.99 Save 18% Current price is $9.78, Original price is $11.99. You Save 18%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


From Bessie to Brazil

For this Concord release, singer Susannah McCorkle alternates vintage standards and obscurities with some more recent songs such as "The Waters Of March," and Dave Frishberg's "Quality Time," and Paul Simon's "Still Crazy After All These Years." The bread and butter is still the older tunes and among the highlights are "The Lady Is A Tramp," "My Sweetie Went Away," "Hit The Road To Dreamland" and a remake of "The People That You Never Get To Love." McCorkle is joined by four horns (including trumpeter Randy Sandke and Ken Peplowski on tenor and clarinet) plus a rhythm section led by her pianist Allen Farnham who also serves as her musical director. A fine all-round showcase for the talented singer.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/30/1993
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0013431454724
catalogNumber: 4547
Rank: 104221

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Susannah McCorkle   Primary Artist,Vocals
Howard Alden   Guitar
Allen Farnham   Piano
Ken Peplowski   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Robert Trowers   Trombone
Kiyoshi Kitagawa   Bass
Dick Oatts   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Chuck Redd   Drums
Randy Sandke   Trumpet,Flugelhorn

Technical Credits

Paul Simon   Composer
Howard Alden   Contributor
Allen Farnham   Director,Musical Director
Dave Frishberg   Composer
Susannah McCorkle   Composer,Liner Notes
Ken Peplowski   Contributor
Fred Jacobs   Authoring
Robert Trowers   Contributor
John Burk   Producer,Executive Producer
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Howard Dietz   Composer
Phil Edwards   Remixing
Haven Gillespie   Composer
Carl Jefferson   Producer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Kiyoshi Kitagawa   Contributor
Hugh Martin   Composer
Dick Oatts   Contributor
Nick Phillips   Producer
Bob Porter   Liner Notes
Chuck Redd   Contributor
Randy Sandke   Contributor
David Schiffman   Engineer
Arthur Schwartz   Composer
Roy Turk   Composer
Paul Wickliffe   Engineer
Kent Judkins   Art Direction
Abbey Anna   Art Direction
Glen Barros   Executive Producer
Ralph Blane   Composer
Doris Fisher   Composer
Lou Handman   Composer
Haroldo Barbosa   Composer
Allan Roberts   Composer
Ted White   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews