From Sea to Stormy Sea: 17 Stories Inspired by Great American Paintings

From Sea to Stormy Sea: 17 Stories Inspired by Great American Paintings

by Lawrence Block

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99 $22.73 Save 43% Current price is $12.99, Original price is $22.73. You Save 43%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


In the third installment of his acclaimed illustrated anthology series, master of crime fiction Lawrence Block has gathered together the best talent from popular fiction to produce an anthology of short stories based on masterpieces of American art.

Seventeen stories by seventeen brilliant writers, inspired by seventeen paintings. That was the formula for Lawrence Block’s two ground-breaking anthologies, In Sunlight or in Shadow and Alive in Shape and Color, and it’s on glorious display here once again in From Sea to Stormy Sea.

This time the paintings are exclusively the work of American artists, and the roster includes Harvey Dunn, John Steuart Curry, Reginald Marsh, Thomas Hart Benton, Helen Frankenthaler, Winslow Homer, Rockwell Kent, Grant Wood, and Andy Warhol. Among the star-studded lineup of writers you’ll find Warren Moore, Jerome Charyn, Jane Hamilton, Christa Faust, John Sandford, Sara Paretsky, Charles Ardai, Barry Malzberg, and Janice Eidus. 

It’s an outstanding collection, with widely divergent stories united by theme and culture, and—no surprise—beautifully illustrated with full-color reproductions of the seventeen paintings.

Including stories by: Sara Paretsky, Jan Burke, Warren Moore, Patricia Abbott, Christa Faust, Jerome Charyn, Barry Malzberg, Scott Frank, Brendan DuBois, Tom Franklin, Gary Phillips, Charles Ardai, Micah Nathan, Janice Eidus, John Sandford, Jane Hamilton, and Lawrence Block. 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781643132853
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication date: 12/03/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 89,185
File size: 31 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Lawrence Block has been writing award-winning mystery and suspense fiction for half a century. His novels include The Girl With the Deep Blue EyesThe Burglar Who Counted the Spoons, Hit Me, and A Drop of the Hard Stuff, featuring Matthew Scudder. He's well known for his books for writers, including the classic Telling Lies For Fun & Profit and Write for Your Life, and he has recently published The Crime of Our Lives, a collection of his writings about the mystery genre and its practitioners.

Table of Contents

Foreword: Before We Begin …

Lawrence Block vii

The Prairie Is My Garden

Patti Abbott

Mother Of Pearl

Charles Ardai 19

Superficial In Juries

Jan Burke 31

The Man From Hard Rock Mountain

Jerome Charyn 49

Adrift Off The Diamond Shoals

Brendan DuBois 59

You're A Walking Time Bong

Janice Eidus 77


Christa Faust 89

He Came In Through The Bathroom Window

Scott Frank 99

On Little Terry Road

Tom Franklin 117

Someday, A Revolution

Jane Hamilton 129


Barry N. Malzberg 139

Silvar At Lakeside

Warren Moore 147

Get Him

Micah Nathan 159

Baptism In Kansas

Sara Paretsky 175

A Matter Of Options

Gary Phillips 201

Girl With An Ax

John Sandford 219

The Way We See The World

Lawrence Block 237

Peamissions 255

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews