From Second Bull Run to Gettysburg: The Civil War in the East, 1862-63

From Second Bull Run to Gettysburg: The Civil War in the East, 1862-63

by Edward J. Stackpole


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 21


Stackpole Books presents Gen. Edward J. Stackpole’s Civil War classics — They Met at Gettysburg, Drama on the Rappahannock, Chancellorsville, and From Cedar Mountain to Antietam — in a single abridged volume that covers the war’s pivotal and turbulent middle year in the Eastern Theater, from the summer of 1862 through the summer of 1863. This year of bloody conflict included the war’s defining battles: Second Bull Run, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, and Gettysburg. It was a year during which the Union cycled through generals as Lincoln sought one who could fight and win – from McClellan to Pope for Second Bull Run, back to McClellan for Antietam, to Burnside for Fredericksburg, to Hooker for Chancellorsville, and to Meade for Gettysburg. As Union command in the East remained unsettled and these generals proved incompetent, timid, or both – or worse – this was the South’s chance, and Lee came into his own as a general for the ages during these months, besting Pope at Second Bull Run, decimating Burnside at Fredericksburg, and outsmarting and outfighting Hooker, with help from Stonewall Jackson, at Chancellorsville. Lee, with a growing belief in his army’s invincibility and an awareness that the Union’s considerable resources in men and material would soon tell, twice mounted invasions of the North during these months, first at Antietam, where he fought McClellan to a draw but had to turn back, and last and more disastrously at Gettysburg, where Meade defeated Lee in three days of hard fighting and sent the Confederates reeling back to Virginia. This was also the year during which Lincoln gave the war higher purpose and greater stakes: Antietam enabled him to issue the Emancipation Proclamation while Gettysburg yielded the famous address. The new birth of freedom Lincoln promised would be won or lost on the battlefield.

This is epic history, told in sweeping, dramatic style by a master of the craft. One battle flows seamlessly to the next in Stackpole’s grand narrative, which also turns a soldier’s eye to the leadership of the men in blue and gray. This book will find enthusiastic readers among general readers as well as among Civil War buffs, military history aficionados, and military officers seeking insightful professional reading.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780811737678
Publisher: Stackpole Books
Publication date: 05/01/2018
Pages: 672
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

Edward J. Stackpole graduated from Yale and went on to fight in the trenches of World War I, winning the Distinguished Service Cross, the Silver Star, and three Purple Hearts. Stackpole returned home to Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, was active in the Pennsylvania National Guard, worked in the family newspaper business, and founded Stackpole Books. General Stackpole returned to military service to head the Panama Security Command and the War Department Manpower Board during World War II, after which he commanded the 28th Infantry Division. He died in 1967.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Union Frustrations 1

Chapter 2 Pope versus Jackson 16

Chapter 3 The Battle of Cedar Mountain 31

Chapter 4 Lee's Campaign against Pope 44

Chapter 5 Second Bull Run I: The Fight Near Groveton 83

Chapter 6 Second Bull Run II: The Main Battle Opens 94

Chapter 7 Second Bull Run III: The Climax 119

Chapter 8 The Battle of Chantilly 139

Chapter 9 Lee Invades Maryland 153

Chapter 10 The Battle of South Mountain 170

Chapter 11 The Harpers Ferry Diversion 188

Chapter 12 Antietam I: The Bloodiest Single Day 213

Chapter 13 Antietam II: Final Phase 234

Chapter 14 Lincoln Tries Another General 262

Chapter 15 The Strategy of the Fredericksburg Campaign 273

Chapter 16 Interlude on the Rappahannock 284

Chapter 17 The Curtain Rises at Fredericksburg 297

Chapter 18 Across the Rappahannock at Last 317

Chapter 19 Fredericksburg I: Union Failure on the Southern Flank 327

Chapter 20 Fredericksburg II: Slaughter at the Stone Wall 337

Chapter 21 Burnside Is Relieved of Command 354

Chapter 22 Hooker Plans a Campaign 364

Chapter 23 The Strategy of the Chancellorsville Campaign 369

Chapter 24 Chancellorsville I: Jackson's Flank Attack 430

Chapter 25 Chancellorsville II: May 3 472

Chapter 26 Chancellorsville III: Fredericksburg and Salem Church 489

Chapter 27 Lee Invades Pennsylvania 522

Chapter 28 Confederate Strategy in June 1863 545

Chapter 29 Meade Takes Command 550

Chapter 30 Gettysburg I: July 1, 1863 564

Chapter 31 Gettysburg II: July 2, 1863 591

Chapter 32 Gettysburg III: July 3, 1863 612

Epilogue 631

Bibliography 637

Index 639

Customer Reviews