From Sun to Sun: A Hospice Nurse Reflects on the Art of Dying

From Sun to Sun: A Hospice Nurse Reflects on the Art of Dying

by Nina Angela McKissock


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Twenty-one people of different ages have one thing in common; they’re within six months of their deaths. They’ve endured the battle of the medical system as they sought cures for their illnesses, and are now settling in to die. Some reconcile, some don’t. Some are gracious, some not. As Nina Angela McKissock, a highly experienced hospice nurse, goes from home to home and within the residential hospice, she shares her journey of deep joy, humorous events, precious stories, and heartbreaking love.

Free of religiosity, dogma, or fear, From Sun to Sun brings readers into McKissock’s world—and imparts the profound lessons she learns as she guides her beloved patients on their final journey.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781631528088
Publisher: She Writes Press
Publication date: 08/04/2015
Pages: 270
Sales rank: 682,864
Product dimensions: 8.80(w) x 11.60(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Nina Angela McKissock has been a registered nurse for thirty-nine years. She was featured on the Spirituality Channel’s three-part television series From Hospice to Heaven, has created hospital-based programs on Death and Dying and Bereavement, and was the Executive Director and Founder of Serenity House and Hospice Support in Doylestown, PA. Before that, she worked as a nurse in top-rated hospitals including The National Cancer Institute in Frederick, MD and Hahnemann University Hospital in Philadelphia. McKissock lives in Philadelphia, PA and has three grown children.

Table of Contents

Prologue 1

Chapter 1 The Farm 3

Chapter 2 The Team 7

Chapter 3 Rick Gallen 13

Chapter 4 Adele Greenberg 31

Chapter 5 Peter 49

Chapter 6 Mrs. McDowell 57

Chapter 7 Clarentine 65

Chapter 8 John Ellicot 73

Chapter 9 Karl Gabler 85

Chapter 10 May I Touch You? 93

Chapter 11 The Farm, and Gloria 101

Chapter 12 My Sister MaryJane 107

Chapter 13 Morgan Harwell 113

Chapter 14 Kenneth MacKenzie 119

Chapter 15 Italy 143

Chapter 16 Eric Ranshousen 151

Chapter 17 Juliet Simon 161

Chapter 18 Franco Volpe 175

Chapter 19 Suzanne 189

Chapter 20 Mike 195

Chapter 21 Walter Reynolds 209

Chapter 22 Evelyn 215

Chapter 23 Freddie, Others 227

Chapter 24 Everitt Banks 237

Customer Reviews