Pub. Date:
From Time to Time: The Singles Collection

From Time to Time: The Singles Collection

by Paul YoungPaul Young


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25


Paul Young's retrospective From Time to Time: The Singles Collection brings together all his major U.S. and European hits from the 1980s and early 1990s. Some of these, including his only U.S. number one "Every Time You Go Away," were remixed when released as singles and to radio -- this collection intelligently includes those versions. Young's music, which bridged new wave, British soul, and adult contemporary, always sported state-of-the-art production, and, coupled with his soulful, yearning voice, has gone on to become some of the finest and most timeless the 1980s had to offer. The songs sound just as lush and energetic as when first released. Highlights include his bewitching breakthrough U.S. single "Come Back and Stay," its reggae-flavored follow-up "Love of the Common People," his massive "Every Time You Go Away," the electrifying "I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down," the timeless and sadly underrated "Everything Must Change," his breakthrough U.K. cover of Marvin Gaye's "Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)," his last U.S. Top Ten hit "Oh Girl," and the international smash "Senza Una Donna" (with Italian star Zucchero). Paul Young was a superb interpreter of other people's hits, evident here by two new tracks -- his stirring renditions of Crowded House's "Don't Dream It's Over" and Joni Mitchell's "Both Sides Now." The only hit missing is his smash from Fried Green Tomatoes "What Becomes of the Broken-Hearted," but, then again, that song was released the year after this collection.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/24/1998
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 5099746882525
catalogNumber: 4688252
Rank: 54851


  1. Everytime You Go Away
  2. Come Back And Stay
  3. I'm Only Foolin' Myself
  4. Senza Una Donna
  5. I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down
  6. Broken Man
  7. Everything Must Change
  8. Wonderland
  9. Don't Dream It's Over
  10. Love Of The Common People
  11. Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)
  12. Both Sides Now
  13. Some People
  14. Oh Girl
  15. Softly Whispering I Love You

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Young   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews