Full Circle

Full Circle

by The QuillThe Quill


$16.42 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.42, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 29


Half a decade passed between the Quill's 2006 release In Triumph and their next album Full Circle. Between those two albums, Magnus Arnar replaced Magnus Ekwall as the Quill's lead singer; Full Circle is Arnar's first album with the Swedish stoner rock/alternative metal band. While Ekwall was often compared to Soundgarden's Chris Cornell, Arnar favors a gruff vocal style along the lines of David Coverdale (of Deep Purple and Whitesnake fame). Some of Ekwall's more obsessive admirers might have a hard time adjusting to a post-Ekwall edition of the Quill, but truth be told, Full Circle is a CD that, stylistically, pretty much picks up where In Triumph left off. Arnar rises to the occasion nicely, and his Coverdale-isms are quite appropriate, given the fact that Deep Purple have been influencing the Quill for a long time. The Quill's stoner rock/alt-metal continues to have a strong '60s and '70s influence (as in Deep Purple, Blue Cheer, Led Zeppelin, Mountain, Jimi Hendrix, and Black Sabbath), and their awareness of grunge and post-'80s rock (as in Nirvana, Soundgarden, and Alice in Chains) remains. The arrival of Arnar hasn't caused the Quill to significantly alter their sound; they still sound like the Quill, favoring an approach that is aggressive yet melodic and nuanced. So anyone who is worried about the Quill losing or obscuring their identity need not be concerned; this 2011 edition of the Quill (Arnar, guitarist Christian Carlsson, bassist Robert Triches, and drummer Jolle Atlagic) is quite faithful to the band's history. Once you get past the fact that the Quill have a new lead singer, Full Circle doesn't offer a lot of surprises. But if the material is fairly predictable, it is also enjoyably solid on the Quills' first post-Ekwall album.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/26/2011
Label: Metalville
UPC: 0727361671204
catalogNumber: 17
Rank: 89598


  1. Sleeping With Your Enemy
  2. Full Circle
  3. Black Star
  4. Medicine
  5. Bring It On
  6. River Of A Moonchild
  7. 24/7 Groove
  8. White Flag
  9. Pace That Kills
  10. No Easy Way Out
  11. Running
  12. More Alive
  13. Waiting For the Sun

Album Credits

Customer Reviews