Further Chronicles Of Avonlea

Further Chronicles Of Avonlea

by L. M. Montgomery
4.7 7

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Further Chronicles Of Avonlea by L. M. Montgomery

Lucy Maud Montgomery is best known for her "Anne" series, starting with "Anne of Green Gables". A lifelong writer, Montgomery wrote her first poem at nine years old. Many of her stories, and the characters within them, were written from an autobiographical stance. "Further Chronicles of Avonlea", published in 1920, is a sequel to her "Chronicles of Avonlea". This sequel created a great deal of controversy as it was published without the consent of the author, and led to a nine-year-long legal battle between Montgomery and her publishers, L. C. Page & Co., from which Montgomery won $18,000. This collection includes: "Aunt Cynthia's Persian Cat," "The Materializing of Cecil," "Her Father's Daughter," "Jane's Baby," "The Dream-Child," "The Brother Who Failed," "The Return of Hester," "The Little Brown Book of Miss Emily," "Sara's Way," "The Son of his Mother," "The Education of Betty," "In Her Selfless Mood," "The Conscience Case of David Bell," "Only a Common Fellow," and "Tannis of the Flats."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781596742536
Publisher: Neeland Media LLC
Publication date: 05/19/2011
Series: Anne of Green Gables Series
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

"I love books.  I hope when I grow up to be able to have lots of them." Lucy Maud Montgomery wrote in her journal when she was just fourteen.  This journal entry, made in 1889, is significant to readers today who know that when she grew up she not only owned and read many books, but also became the world-famous author L. M. Montgomery.  Maud, as she liked to be called by family and friends, wrote twenty-four books between 1908 and 1939.  Her first was Anne of Green Gables, and her other works include seven more Anne books, the Avonlea stories, the Emily trilogy, two novels for adults, an autobiography, and the novel The Story Girl.

Lucy Maud Montgomery was always writing and reading and was quite a story girl herself, creating more than five hundred short stories.  She also wrote many poems.  One edition of her poetry was published during her lifetime and today all her poems have been collected in a single volume.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Further Chronicles of Avonlea 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
gammie2 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the Anne of Green Gables series of books which are all wonderful and loved by generations of girls! I adored each and every one of the series and bought this for my 11 year old grand-daughter. My mother, now 95 years old, remembers these books and is also a fan! They're right in style today as much as many, many years ago! Two thumbs up for something decent and suitable for all ages! May they always be published for generations to come.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has the funniest and sometimes saddest stories I've ever read. It was quite enjoyable
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is totally sympathetic for me! I love it and i want everybody to read it too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A fun assortment of Avonlea stories. Wholesome and entertaining. A must read for parents and children.
Guest More than 1 year ago
if you like to read this is the book. you experiene everything you should in a book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago