Game Of Scones

Game Of Scones

by Samantha Tonge

NOOK BookePub First edition (eBook - ePub First edition)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

A story of icing and flour… and how love doesn’t always go to plan!Growing up, Pippa Pattinson’s summers were spent in the idyllic Greek island fishing village of Taxos. There she spent many long hazy days determinedly ignoring thoughts of the life her parents had mapped out for her (a dreary-but-secure accounting job and obligatory sensible husband!) Instead she daydreamed of running her own tea shop – serving the perfect scones – with mocha-eyed childhood friend Niklaus by her side…Arriving back in Taxos for the first time in years, with suave boyfriend Henrik, Pippa barely recognises the tired little town – but is relieved to catch glimpses of the quaint, charming village she’s always loved. Together Niklaus and Pippa put together a proposal to save Taxos from tourist-tastic ruin, and at the heart of their plan is Pippa’s dream project: The Tastiest Little Tea Shop in Taxos. It’s time for Pippa to leave her London life behind and dust off her scone recipe that’s guaranteed to win over both locals and visitors. And amidst the rolling pins and raisins, it seems romance is blossoming where she’s least expecting it…Don't miss this sizzling new summer read from bestselling author of Doubting Abbey and Mistletoe Mansion, perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk's Always the Bridesmaid and Lucy Diamond's Summer at Shell Cottage.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781474034029
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/20/2015
Series: The Little Teashop , #1
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 427,788
File size: 775 KB

About the Author

Samantha lives in Cheshire, England, with her lovely family and two cats who think they are dogs. A love of reading developed as a child, when she was known for reading Enid Blyton books in the bath. Having first followed other careers, such as as a fun stint working at Disneyland Paris, Samantha began writing and has sold around 100 short stories to women's magazines. Formally trained as a linguist, she has a passion for writing romantic comedy novels.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Game Of Scones (The Little Teashop, Book 1) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Game of Scones - The Little Teashop Book One Author: Samantha Tonge Publisher: Carina UK/Harper Collins Published: 4-9-2015 Pages: 240 Genre: Humor Sub-Genre: Satire; American; Fiction ISBN: 9781474034029 ASIN: B00ULP98BQ Reviewed For NetGalley and the Publisher Reviewer: DelAnne Rating: 4.25 Stars Childhood memories are shattered when Pippa Pattinson to Taxos, The Greek Isle she often spent her summers visiting. Arriving with her boyfriend, Henrik expecting a particular question, but also wonders if teenage Taxos crush, Niklaus might still have claim on her heart. Taxos is struggling to survive in a modern world. Henrik believes turning Taxos into an ultra sophisticated tourist destination. Niklaus and Pippa want to save Taxos' charm and traditions. Which is the best path to take and which man will win her hand? Filled with humor and romance. The story flows smoothly and quickly. It is well written and perfect for a hot lazy summer day. My rating of "Game of Scones" is 4.25 out of 5 stars.
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
Great New Series! This is a great start of a new series. This is the first book in The Little Teashop series by Samantha Tonge. Pippa Pattinson spent her summers on a Greek island fishing village called Taxos. Her dream was to open up her own tea shop with her childhood friend Niko by her side. When Pippa returns to Taxos with her boyfriend Henrik she is relieved to see the charming village she has always loved. Pippa and her friend Niko put a proposal together to start their dream business The Tastiest Little Tea Shop in Taxos. She knows it is time for her to leave London and move to Taxos. This is a fun chick lit book with loveable characters, I am looking forward to reading more books by this author.  A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
Splashesintobooks1 More than 1 year ago
Scones + Kos = delicious Greek romance Pippa Pattinson loved the month each year that she spent with her parents staying in the fishing village of Taxos on the Greek island of Kos. She used to dream of running her own tea shop, selling scones, to visitors. Now she’s all grown up and it is years since she visited the island. She’s off there for three weeks with her boyfriend, Henrik and she knows she’s going to have to decide whether they have a future together after hints from his Mum! She’s uncertain and meeting up with childhood friend and ally, Niko really doesn’t help as the attraction between them seems volatile.The problem is, he’s engaged to someone else, the village is struggling because of the recession and Henrik has big plans to revive it that will change it forever. Torn between two possible futures, fighting to help keep the village and community unspoilt by big company commercialism and considering where her future lies makes this a difficult but exciting time for Pippa and all concerned with her. The village and villagers are fantastic characters, their battle to survive the recession and their fight to stop the huge commercial company destroying their community makes fantastic reading. I initially struggled to relate to Pippa, she seems so indecisive, confused and silly but she certainly grows on you as the story progresses. I like how so many of the characters ‘grow’ during the story, developing their skills, knowledge and changing their attitudes with their experiences. I’d love to try some of Pippa’s scones and will look out for future books by this author, too. Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.