Gap Band IV

Gap Band IV

by The Gap Band

Item is available through our marketplace sellers and in stores.


Gap Band IV

Gap Band IV featured a complete lineup of up-tempo, mid-tempo, and alluring ballads. The feature releases, in order, were "Early in the Morning," "You Dropped a Bomb on Me," and "Outstanding." The first two are energized numbers seasoned around horrific basslines and Charlie Wilson's dazzling vocals. Respectively, they peaked at number one and two on the Billboard R&B chart. Not as aggressive, the latter is a festive number paced an unorthodox percussive beat. It claimed the number one spot on the Billboard R&B chart as well. There were no other official selections to grace Billboard. However, every song visited radio, and rightly so. The sentimental numbers "Stay With Me," "Seasons No Reason to Change," and "I Can't Get Over You" have become standard among R&B radio. The latter features a sentimental flügelhorn exhibition by Ronnie Wilson. Mellow numbers always seem to retain that timeless appeal whereas up-tempo numbers fade with time. This album is different; the up-tempo numbers remain inviting as well. This is a great album.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/03/1994
Label: Mca Special Products
UPC: 0042282279422
catalogNumber: 822794

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gap Band   Primary Artist
David Drew   Background Vocals
Oliver Scott   Synthesizer,Horn,Keyboards
Val Young   Background Vocals
Raymond Calhoun   Drums
Fred Jenkins   Guitar
Marva King   Background Vocals
Glenn Nightingale   Guitar
Lonnie Simmons   Background Vocals
Rudy Taylor   Background Vocals
Andy Ward   Horn
Melvin Webb   Drums
Robert Whitfield   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Charlie Wilson   Synthesizer,Percussion,Keyboards,Vocals,Mini Moog
Robert Wilson   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Background Vocals
Jimmy Macon   Guitar
Louis Cabaza   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Ronnie Wilson   Synthesizer,Percussion,Flugelhorn,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Alisa Peoples   Background Vocals
Sheila Young   Background Vocals
Ronnie Kaufman   Percussion,Drums
Maxine Lewis   Background Vocals
Larry Stone   Horn
Dionne Oliver   Bass
Earl Roberson   Horn
Cavin Yarbough   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Jack Rouben   Engineer
Lonnie Simmons   Producer
Robert Wilson   Horn Arrangements
Ronnie Wilson   Horn Arrangements
Scott Simon   Engineer
Michael Evans   Engineer
Lonnie Kelem   Engineer
Rudolph Taylor   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews