Gemma: A Novel

Gemma: A Novel

by Lauren A. Forry
Gemma: A Novel

Gemma: A Novel

by Lauren A. Forry

Hardcover

$27.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Available for Pre-Order. This item will be released on August 6, 2024
  • PICK UP IN STORE

    Store Pickup available after publication date.

Related collections and offers


Overview

What happened at the river last night? A twisty psychological thriller for readers of Megan Miranda, Megan Abbot, Taylor Adams, and Catriona Ward
 
Sometime between the late night and early morning hours, in a dank, uncomfortable interrogation room, sits a young woman about to tell you a chilling story. Her pregnant sister, Sarah, is missing. Her cousin is somehow involved. They were all down by the Schuylkill River last night, she says, but she won’t say why. She’s cold, terrified, and confused about what happened. Or is she just lying?
 
You want to believe her. Her story seems plausible on the surface. But as you dig deeper, it’s clear something is very wrong. Instead of helping to find her sister, she keeps telling you stories about her ex-roommate, Gemma. Gemma, who came into their lives offering a six-month cash deposit up front, proffered from a dirty gym bag. Gemma, who disrupted their routines with her manipulative behavior, her bizarre habits, and her secrets. Gemma, who disappeared quietly several months ago, leaving no trace of where she went or that she had ever lived with them all. 
 
Who was Gemma and what happened to her? What does it have to do with Sarah’s disappearance? Are they part of some elaborate game or is something else going on? And what happened by the river last night? Why can’t she just tell the truth?
 
From the author of They Did Bad Things, Gemma is a devious new mystery and slowly escalating psychological thriller with a touch of horror.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781648210280
Publisher: Arcade Crimewise
Publication date: 08/06/2024
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 169,137
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.74(d)

About the Author

Lauren A. Forry was brought up in the woods of Pennsylvania before moving to New York City to earn her undergraduate degree in Cinema Studies and Screenwriting from New York University. She later earned her MA and MFA in Creative Writing and Publishing from Kingston University in London, England. She was awarded the Faber and Faber Creative Writing MA Prize for her thesis work, Abigale Hall, which was published by Skyhorse and translated into multiple languages. Her short stories have been featured in The X-Files: Secret Agendas, Brick Moon Fiction, and Lamplight Magazine. She currently teaches English at Harcum College and resides in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. She never murdered anyone while in college.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews