Georgia O'Keeffe: A Life

Georgia O'Keeffe: A Life

by Roxana Robinson
Georgia O'Keeffe: A Life

Georgia O'Keeffe: A Life

by Roxana Robinson

Paperback(Second Edition, Enlarged, Expanded Edition)

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 9
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


One of the greatest and most admired artists of the twentieth century, Georgia O’Keeffe led a life rich in intense relationships—with family, friends, and especially with fellow artist Alfred Stieglitz. Her extraordinary accomplishments, such as the often eroticized flowers, bones, stones, skulls, and pelvises she painted with such command, are all the more remarkable when seen in the context of the struggle she waged between the rigorous demands of love and work.

When Roxana Robinson’s definitive biography of O’Keeffe was first published in 1989, it received rave reviews and was named a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. This new edition features a new foreword by the author setting O’Keefe in an artistic context over the last thirty years since the book was first published, as well as previously unpublished letters of the young O’Keeffe to her lover, Arthur MacMahon. It also relates the story of Robinson’s own encounter with the artist. As interest in O’Keeffe continues to grow among museum-goers and scholars alike, this book remains indispensable for understanding her life and art.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781684580323
Publisher: Brandeis University Press
Publication date: 10/01/2020
Edition description: Second Edition, Enlarged, Expanded Edition
Pages: 679
Sales rank: 521,697
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

Roxana Robinson is an art historian and novelist. Among her books of fiction are This Is My Daughter, Asking for Love and Other Stories, Summer Light, and A Glimpse of Scarlet.

Table of Contents

Preface to the Expanded Edition ix

Acknowledgments xix

Part I 1877-1902 Sun Prairie: The Wide and Generous Land 1

Part II 1903-1918 Distant Skies: Explorations and Initiations 35

Part III 1919-1928 An Ordered Life: Manhattan and Lake George 201

Part IV 1929-1946 A Fair Division: New York and New Mexico 313

Part V 1947-1972 A Peaceful Life: The Land of Shining Stone 467

Part VI 1973-1986 Withdrawal: The Dying of the Light 521

Sources and Codes for Notes 561

Notes 565

Selected Bibliography 609

Index 617

Appendix Letters from Georgia O'Keeffe to Arthur Macmahon 1915-1938 637

Illustrations Sources and Credits 685

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items