by Chris de BurghChris de Burgh


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 26


The Getaway gave Chris de Burgh his first charted single with "Don't Pay the Ferryman," which peaked at number 34 in 1983. A feverishly fast-paced tune, it contained vibrant keyboards and had de Burgh powerfully barking out the chorus in one of his most intense offerings. As his most spirited single up to that point, it proved that he could easily dish out a charging rock song that still harbored his enchanting brand of lyrics and mystery. Other songs carry this surging flow as well, like the flighty tempo of "The Getaway," kept together by its pop
ock stride, or the determination aching from de Burgh's voice throughout "Ship to Shore," which proves he can muster up some energy with barely any effort. de Burgh creates a tropical ambience with the calming flow of "Living in the Island" and returns to his charming form with "Crying and Laughing." The Getaway is made up of mostly edgier tunes from de Burgh this time around, which is a delightful transition from his usually mellow offerings. Although the odd love song creeps up here and there, they don't seem to tarnish the admirable course of the album.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/09/2004
Label: Universal I.S.
UPC: 0082839492928
catalogNumber: 3949292
Rank: 56750


  1. Don't Pay the Ferryman
  2. Living on the Island
  3. Crying and Laughing
  4. I'm Counting on You
  5. The Getaway
  6. Ship to Shore
  7. All the Love I Have Inside
  8. Borderline
  9. Where Peaceful Waters Flow
  10. The Revolution
  11. Light a Fire
  12. Liberty

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chris de Burgh   Primary Artist,Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals,12-string Guitar
Rupert Hine   Synthesizer,Percussion,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
David Caddick   Piano
John Giblin   Bass,Fretless Bass Guitar
Nigel Green   Strings
Steve Negus   Drums
Phil Palmer   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Stephen W. Tayler   Saxophone,Wind,Woodwind
Anthony Thistlethwaite   Saxophone
Nigel Warren-Green   Cello
Tim Wynveen   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Chris de Burgh   Composer,Contributor
Rupert Hine   Arranger,Producer,Orchestral Arrangements
Stephen W. Tayler   Engineer
Syd Brak   Illustrations
Michael Ross   Art Direction

Customer Reviews