Ghost Brothers of Darkland County

Ghost Brothers of Darkland County

by Stephen King


$13.79 $15.99 Save 14% Current price is $13.79, Original price is $15.99. You Save 14%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Ghost Brothers of Darkland County

Termed a "Southern gothic musical," Ghost Brothers of Darkland County was scripted by novelist Stephen King with the music coming from maverick heartland rocker John Mellencamp, a collaboration a bit left-field for both artists. This set includes Mellencamp's songs interspersed with key dialogue from King's libretto, and while the story might be too complex -- essentially, it's the tale of two brothers involved in a murder/suicide whose ghosts haunt an isolated cabin and whose tragic deeds and consequent fate seems about to be repeated by their living nephews -- to be truly appreciated in single-disc form like this, so it's Mellencamp's songs, sung by the likes of Elvis Costello, Neko Case, Sheryl Crow, Dave and Phil Alvin (real-life brothers whose estrangement with each other ended while working on this project), Taj Mahal, Ryan Bingham, Clyde Mulroney, Rosanne Cash, and Kris Kristofferson (Mellencamp only sings on one song here, the summing-it-up last track "Truth") that are really left to carry things. They certainly work as songs, and may well be among the best Mellencamp has ever written, while the overall sound of the whole musical suite, crafted by T-Bone Burnett, is kind of like a sparse and shined-up version of a late-period Tom Waits album, due in part to the presence of multi-instrumentalist Marc Ribot on most of the tracks, and the tight, spare rhythm section of Jay Bellerose on drums and David Piltch on bass. The performances? Elvis Costello sounds gleeful and sinful on "That's Me" (identity and fulfillment are key themes of Ghost Brothers of Darkland Country, that and history's tendency to repeat itself), Neko Case is sassy and sure on "That's Who I Am," Kris Kristofferson sounds old, wise, and weary on "How Many Days," Taj Mahal rages through "Tear This Cabin Down," and Sheryl Crow is confident and cocky on "Jukin'," while Rosanne Cash turns in a delicately worn and wise reading of "You Don't Know Me," and for a story that spans decades and generations, it's obvious that everyone is singing about who they are, who they ought to be, and who they ended up becoming. It's difficult to say how good this musical is just from the songs and pieces of dialogue presented here, but the songs have a weary, inevitable flow to them, as if fate forced them into a dark room with little light or air or chance of redemption. Redemption comes with acceptance of who one is, the songs and story here seem to say, and only then can the real truth about what has happened to anyone really be revealed. It's a ghost story, after all.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/04/2013
Label: Hear Music
UPC: 0888072336827
catalogNumber: 33682
Rank: 4981

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stephen King   Primary Artist
Taj Mahal   Harp
Dave Alvin   Background Vocals
Phil Alvin   Background Vocals
Marc Ribot   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Electric Guitar
Ralph Carney   Clarinet
Sheryl Crow   Background Vocals
T Bone Burnett   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Dane Clark   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
David Piltch   Bass
Andy York   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,Slide Guitar
Jay Bellerose   Drums
Merrie Sloan   Background Vocals
Troye Kinnett   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Sophia Travis   Piano
Keefus Green   Keyboards
Dave Roe   Bass,Background Vocals
Mike Manchic   Acoustic Guitar
Janas Hoyt Westcott   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Elvis Costello   Composer
T Bone Burnett   Composer,Producer
Ed Cherney   Engineer
Paul Mahern   Special Effects,Engineer
John Mellencamp   Composer
Andy York   Composer,Artist Consultant
Stephen King   Composer
Mike Piersante   Engineer
Kevin Mazur   Photo Courtesy
Matt Andrews   Engineer
Paul Ackling   Guitar Techician
Jason Wormer   Engineer
Vanessa Parr   Engineer
Larissa Collins   Art Direction
Patrick Fleming   Underscoring
Neal Warner   Special Effects
Alan Light   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews