Ghost Shadow: Unfinished Sins

Ghost Shadow: Unfinished Sins

by Bob MacKenzie

Paperback

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, February 4
MARKETPLACE
4 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Overview

In mid-Eighties Windsor, Vietnamese gangs and Chinese organized crime meet head on in violent turf war as they go after a University of Windsor anthropology professor and $2,000,000 in ancient treasure he stole from China. Meanwhile, a brutal serial rapist and killer terrorizes the city.

Three psychologically damaged women - the professor's wife, his 17 year old daughter, and a private detective - are drawn into this world of brutal psychological terror, raw physical and emotional violence, and international crime and intrigue. Can they survive?

In the tradition of Graham Greene and Elmore Leonard. Working on several levels, this psychological crime thriller is also the story of how these three women cope and ultimately survive their journey into hell.

Payge Turner was considered a good cop. At least she was until she was asked to leave the Windsor Police Force for an unprovoked angry attack on a suspect. Payge has a darkness in her that made her dangerous to work with and difficult to control.

Now Payge is a private detective. It's easier to control her darkness when she works alone.

Payge's mind is on the current rash of brutal rape-murders in Windsor when she is hired to investigate the disappearance of 17 year old Susan Markham, the daughter of a respected anthropologist. Susan doesn't fit the rapist's M.O., but Payge begins to suspect something more sinister has happened to this attractive student.

Within days, Payge must cope with the turf war between oriental gangs, stolen Chinese treasure, a father who seems unconcerned that his daughter has been kidnapped, and a client who isn't telling her everything. The dark streets of Windsor hide secrets in bars, in families, in the shaded corners where rapists hide.

Joining forces with her old police partner, Yvonne Laforet, Payge is soon on the trail of the missing woman. What she doesn't realize is that the most frightening thing she'll discover is hidden deep within herself.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780968542217
Publisher: Dark Matter Press
Publication date: 09/29/2010
Series: Payge Turner Mystery
Pages: 270
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.61(d)

About the Author

Canadian poet, performer, and arts reviewer Bob MacKenzie has been writing poetry, prose fiction, arts criticism, and songs since 1965. Reflection, his first book of poetry, was published in 1965.

His poetry has been widely published in newspapers, magazines, journals and anthologies in Canada, The United States, and worldwide; including, with noted Canadian printmaker G. Brender a Brandis, five of his poems as signed and numbered limited edition prints and a limited edition art-book, The Little Song (1975).

Bob has also released six albums of spoken word and songs with the performance group Poem de Terre, including War & Love (2006); and published three more books between 2007 and 2009.

Bob has received an Ontario Arts Council Grant, and has art-poetry in the Canada Council's National Art Bank.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ghost Shadow: Unfinished Sins 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Payge Turner was once a member of the Windsor, Canada Police Force, but her uncontrolled anger forced her resignation. Now Payge works as a private investigator and is hired by Marge Markham, wife of a University of Windsor professor. Marge's daughter, Susie, is missing and her husband, Dr. Markham, has received a note which states that Susie's life is threatened unless he, Dr. Frank Markham, returns what is wanted. Frank Markham went on a private trip to China and Tibet while he was on sabbatical to write a book. While Frank was in Tibet, five men raided an archeological dig of a twelfth century palace and stole two million dollars worth of valuable jewels. The leader of this robbery was white, not Chinese. Payge teams up with her former co-worker, Detective Yvonne LaForet of the Windsor Police Department, as it would seem that Ghost Shadow, a Chinese gang, or "tong" and possibly other tongs are in Windsor looking for revenge. Will Payge and Yvonne be able to save Marge and Susie Markham before everyone is killed? "Ghost Shadows: Unfinished Sins" is a well-written and well-edited thriller that has many characters involved as the plot twists and turns to the book's conclusion. Frank Markham is a steely, heartless man who obviously beats his wife and abuses his daughter. Beau Geste is a psychopath's psycho. That they are killed is to no one's sorrow as Payge and Yvonne work their way through confronting bad guy after bad guy with occasional good guys like Teddy Leung thrown into the story. Payge's return and the development of her character in future books will be welcomed by readers who will also wait to read more about Yvonne LaForet and Payge's possible return to the Windsor Police Department.