Ghosts of Babylon

Ghosts of Babylon

by R.A. Mathis

Paperback

$9.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Overview

Set against a backdrop of escalating terror, Ghosts of Babylon is a fast-paced military thriller that features an intense, gritty, and powerful cast of characters. In a desperate attempt to salvage both his career and a wrecked personal life, archeologist Stuart Knight volunteers to serve in Iraq as a translator, but his real objective is to get his hands on Babylon's ancient treasures. Once on the ground, he meets Captain Allen, a battalion intelligence officer determined to catch Al-Khayal, the insurgent who blew off his leg and annihilated his entire crew with an IED.

Entangled in the grisly web of Allen's private war, Knight's quest for redemption turns into a struggle to survive with deadly enemies on both sides of the fence. Stuart soon finds himself staring into the face of terror, his own mortality, and an evil as old as Babylon itself.

Written by R.A. Mathis, a veteran armored cavalry officer, this unique novel exposes the pain, horror, and exhilaration of the Iraq War-harsh realities that can only be revealed by one who was there. Spiked with elements of the supernatural, it peers into the abyss and reveals how unchecked obsession can damage those around us and ultimately lead to our destruction. Will Knight heed a final warning, lest he, too, loses his soul to the ghosts of Babylon? Nobody believes in Hell-until they get there.

Review: "R.A. Mathis is one of those rare authors who knows what he imagines. A veteran of the conflict in Iraq, he knows what it means to be both hunter and prey. In a land where keen observation means survival, he gives us the sights, sounds, and feelings that have shaped America's longest war. In the tradition of Conrad and Melville, and with all the vivid authenticity and heartbreak of 'Hurt Locker' and 'Three Kings,' Mathis finds the God inside his details and makes those surreal patterns real. Anyone looking for the truth behind the headlines will find them in Ghosts of Babylon."

Jay WurtsCoauthor of When Heaven and Earth Changed Places, Honored and Betrayed, and other works by modern warriors.

A portion of all book sales trough Memorial Day of 2013 will go to the Wounded Warrior Project.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781478130093
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 09/07/2012
Pages: 204
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.47(d)

About the Author

A jack-of-all-trades and master of some, R.A. Mathis has worn many hats as a husband, father, student, teacher, soldier, and public official. As a high school math teacher, he was voted Teacher of the Year in 2004. However, he has always been a writer. After graduating from the University of Tennessee with a BS in mathematics, he served nine years in the army (both active duty and National Guard) as an armored cavalry officer, rising to the rank of captain. During that time, he served a yearlong combat tour in Iraq. His articles about the war have been published in Southeast regional periodicals and he has lectured on the subject throughout Tennessee and Alabama. In 2010, he was elected to public office in Tennessee where he currently lives with his wife, three children, and a dog named Max. The author of Ghosts of Babylon, a dark military thriller, he says his kids and the lawn are growing way too fast.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ghosts of Babylon 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Bookblogger More than 1 year ago
Ghosts of Babylon is a fantastic book written by a man who has been there and it shows in the writing. Telling the story of a group of soldiers overseas chasing down a bomb maker who has killed many people from the view of the translator is a new twist to a familiar kind of story. Adding just a hint of paranormal enriches the story drastically and is done with a light hand. This book is not swarming with zombies or ghosts or any of the other elements that are rife in books that get described as paranormal these days, instead there is a feeling of dread caused by something looking over your shoulder. It is a great way to slowly build the tension in a book leaving the reader eager to see what will be revealed. If you are at all a fan of realistic military books or psychological thrillers then this book is for you. Well done Mr. Mathis and I look forward to seeing what other offerings you will have in the future.