Giovanni Alberto Ristori: Missa; Litaniae; Miserere

Giovanni Alberto Ristori: Missa; Litaniae; Miserere

by Sächsisches Vocalensemble


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Product Details

Release Date: 03/15/2019
Label: Cpo Records
UPC: 0761203520022
catalogNumber: 555200
Rank: 104352


  1. Missa for soloists, chorus & orchestra in C major

    1. Kyrie  (05:13)
    2. Gloria  (03:36)
    3. Credo  (05:22)
    4. Sanctus  (02:54)
    5. Benedictus  (03:26)
    6. Agnus Dei  (03:33)
  2. Litaniae de Sancto Xaverio, for soloists, chorus & orchestra

    1. Kyrie  (07:59)
    2. Vas electionis  (03:05)
    3. Tuba resonans  (05:02)
    4. Pauperrime Xaveri  (05:49)
    5. Agnus Dei  (03:15)
  3. Miserere for soloists, chorus & orchestra in C minor

    1. Miserere mei, Deus  (06:18)
    2. Averte faciem tuam  (02:53)
    3. Quoniam si voluisses  (02:39)
    4. Tunc imponent  (01:19)
    5. Gloria Patri  (00:40)
    6. Et in saecula saeculorum  (01:00)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Giovanni Alberto Ristori: Missa; Litaniae; Miserere 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
RGraves321 7 months ago
A commenter took me to task for my recent review of Jan Dismas Zelenka's Missa Omnium Sanctorum. "The point of a mass setting is not to be "fun" and Zelenka would probably abhor that characterization of this work... Anyway, it was his friend [Giovanni Alberto] Ristori who was responsible for the "fun" masses in Dresden." Ristori did serve at the court of the Saxon Elector along with Zelenka. Based on this recording, I'm not sure I'd call him the fun one. (Actually, in my review "fun" was the description of the performances, not the music). Still, Ristori has a distinctively different style than that of his colleague. It draws more on the Italian operatic tradition and centers around the beauty of the human voice. The Missa in C major features some beautiful choral set pieces with sparkling counterpoint. Not fun, but heartfelt, and perhaps joyful. Far more serious in character is the Litaniae de Sancto Xaverio and the Miserere in C minor. In both these works, the Sächsisches Vocalensemble seems to have a thicker, darker texture. Yes, some of it's in the music (minor vs. major), but some of it's in the performances. Soprano Heidi Maria Taubert sings with a clear tone that has a little bit of edge. It's especially effective in the Miserere. The alto part is sung by countertenor David Erler. The blend of Erler's voice with Taubert's enhances that brassy edge even more. And, I think, it works well. Although this album was recorded in a church, ambiance was kept to a minimum. Overall, that's a good thing. The contrapuntal passages could easily be muddied. My only complaint was the decay at the end of movements. It just seems to fall off too abruptly. Overall, though, a good recording of some well-performed music. I found it a very satisfying listening experience. But not fun.