Girls, Vol. 1: Music from the HBO Original Series

Girls, Vol. 1: Music from the HBO Original Series


$21.79 $23.99 Save 9% Current price is $21.79, Original price is $23.99. You Save 9%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Girls, Vol. 1: Music from the HBO Original Series

Girls, Vol. 1: Music from the HBO Original Series gathers musical highlights from the show's first season as well as songs to be featured in its second season. Girls won praise for its unflinching and often hilarious portrayal of four friends testing the waters of post-college life; while most of the soundtrack doesn't have quite this amount of depth, it's still a believable and very listenable backdrop to Hannah and her friends' (mis)adventures. Girls' music is a pretty even mix of hedonism and soul-searching: cheeky tracks like Icona Pop's "I Love It" and the Vaccines' "Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)" capture living-in-the-moment thrills, while introspective songs such as the Echo-Friendly's "Same Mistakes," Fleet Foxes' "Montezuma," and Belle & Sebastian's "I Don't Love Anyone" (which had seen a few generations of twenty-somethings through their pre-life crises by the time it was included here) reflect the characters' dawning self-awareness. Like the show's characters, sometimes the song choices here tread dangerously close to cliché, but Robyn's "Dancing on My Own" expresses the push-pull of wanting to be in love while remaining independent that Girls' girls are experiencing, all within the confines of a brilliantly catchy pop song. Several exclusive songs also appear here, such as fun.'s "Sight of the Sun," Grouplove's rousing "Everyone's Gonna Get High," and Santigold's sassy "Girls," adding more dimension to the soundtrack's music. Even if Girls, Vol. 1: Music from the HBO Original Series falls just short of having enough personality to feel like a mixtape or playlist made by Hannah or one of her friends, there are enough quirky choices to prevent it from feeling like too blatant a piece of marketing.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/08/2013
Label: Fueled By Ramen
UPC: 0075678761881
catalogNumber: 533121
Rank: 188468

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Michael Penn   Composer,Producer
Phil Ek   Producer
Belle and Sebastian   Composer
Robyn   Producer
Judd Apatow   Executive Producer
Patrick Berger   Composer,Producer
Dave McCracken   Composer,Producer
Harper Simon   Composer,Producer
Santi White   Composer
Jack Antonoff   Producer
Switch   Producer
Style of Eye   Producer
Andrew Dost   Producer
Ryan Rabin   Producer
Fleet Foxes   Producer
Robin Pecknold   Composer
Joshua Skubel   Package Production
Morgan Kibby   Composer
Dave Taylor   Composer
Lia Ices   Composer,Producer
Fun.   Composer
Patrik Berger   Composer,Producer
Katie Robinson   Marketing
Linus Eklow   Composer
Ben Okri   Composer
Grouplove   Composer
Freddie Cowan   Composer
White Sea   Producer
Nanna Øland Fabricius   Composer
Arni Arnason   Composer
Pete Robertson   Composer
Justin Young   Composer
Robin Carlsson   Composer
Echo-Friendly   Producer
Jenni Konner   Executive Producer
Jeffrey Penalva   Composer
Jake Rabintach   Composer
Viglio Tzaj   Art Direction
Trooko   Producer
Thom Skarzynski   Marketing
Shannon Esper   Composer
Charlotte Aitchison   Composer
Nicolas Ventes   Producer
Lena Dunham   Executive Producer
Jon Leahy   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Girls, Vol. 1: Music from the HBO Original Series 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago