Give Them the Rights

Give Them the Rights

by The Congos The Congos


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, December 10


The century's first Congos album of all new material, 2005's Give Them the Rights, comes a full six years after the spotty Revival, and leader Cedric Myton has used the time off to construct a much stronger set of tunes than that album could manage. More importantly, Myton has assembled nearly all of the old crew: Sly & Robbie produce, and the musician credits are like reading the starting lineup of someone's fantasy roots reggae team, from guitarist Earl "Chinna" Smith on down. The result is an impressive simulacrum of classic '70s roots reggae, and yet while it studiously ignores commercial trends and misbegotten attempts to "update" the familiar Congos sound, nor does it sound like a boring period piece. Instead, there's "Praise H.I.M.," pure devotional roots reggae set to a gently swaying beat over which Myton trills a call-and-response lead vocal in his inimitable falsetto; the cutting character study "Mr. Shark"; and the thrilling anthemic opener, "It Can't Work." Give Them the Rights is no Heart of the Congos -- you only get an album like that once in a career -- but it's far better than naysayers might expect.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/29/2005
Label: Young Tree Records
UPC: 0751937255420
catalogNumber: 1221
Rank: 110841


  1. It Can't Work
  2. Give Them the Rights
  3. Kingdom Rises
  4. Boycott
  5. Undiluted Soldier
  6. Sleeping Giant
  7. Lion in the Jungle
  8. Mr. Shark
  9. Praise H.I.M.
  10. Capture Your Smile
  11. Born Again

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Congos   Primary Artist
Junior Delgado   Background Vocals
Cedric Myton   Vocals
Gladstone Anderson   Piano
Lloyd Denton   Organ,Piano,Background Vocals
Sly Dunbar   Drums
Dean Fraser   Saxophone
Everton Gayle   Saxophone
Paul Henton   Piano
Bongo Herman   Percussion,Nyabinghi Drums
David Madden   Trumpet
Dwight Pinkney   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Ronald "Nambo" Robinson   Trombone
Style Scott   Drums
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass,Bass Guitar
Earl "Chinna" Smith   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Uziah "Sticky" Thompson   Percussion
Earl "Bagga" Walker   Bass,Background Vocals
Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace   Drums,Background Vocals
Errol "Flabba" Holt   Bass
Ruddy   Guitar
Cedric Myton & The Congos   Vocals,Background Vocals
Winston McAnuff   Acoustic Guitar
Robby Lyn   Organ,Piano
Johnny Moore Band   Trumpet
Junior Marvin   Guitar
Kenton "Fish" Brown   Bass
Dave "Fluxy" Heywood   Drums

Technical Credits

Cedric Myton   Composer,Audio Production
Lynford "Fatta" Marshall   Engineer
Earl "Chinna" Smith   Arranger,Horn Arrangements
Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace   Arranger
Chris Miller   Engineer
Cedric Myton & The Congos   Arranger,Producer
Rohan Dwyer   Engineer
Perry Hendricks   Engineer
DJ Gusto   Composer
Roland McDermott   Engineer
Yvonne Myton   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Giovanni Maki   Illustrations
Chris Montez Miller   Engineer

Customer Reviews