Glub Glub, Vol. 11

Glub Glub, Vol. 11

by Michael Leonhart


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Glub Glub, Vol. 11

Michael Leonhart takes a hard left turn on his sophomore release. Breaking with all musical conventions, he attempts to create what he calls a "movie in headphones," a kind of sonic collage featuring countless musicians over the course of the album. The trumpet is but one tool among many; in fact, Leonhart also plays Fender Rhodes, Hammond B3 organ, piano, guitar, bass, percussion, and more. But what Glub Glub, Vol. 11 illustrates more than any specific instrumental skill is Leonhart's ability as a producer and a sculptor of sound. That said, his horn looms large on such tracks as "Toni & Jose/The Woodpecker's Revenge" and "Let the Flower Grow," the latter a duet with his father, bassist Jay Leonhart, who wrote the lovely ballad. (His sister Carolyn and mother Donna also make cameos on the record.) The blues-based "Icodel" is the closest the album ever gets to jazz, per se. Amid the many oddities and inscrutable fragments, there are substantial pieces of music, such as "El Tapir," "Samsara," "Seashell on Fire," and "Terra Gekker." These tracks are often based on a single riff or sound, but they always contain a memorable hook or establish some inviting mood -- imagine if Josef Zawinul and Frank Zappa had gotten together to make a new kind of lounge music. The whole thing is weird, and deliberately so. But there's a clearheaded, knowledgeable spirit guiding it from start finish. Just let it wash over you. Get past the sheer unfamiliarity of the idea and you'll hear a work that's full of heart.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/17/1998
Label: Sunnyside
UPC: 0016728107723
catalogNumber: 1077

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael Leonhart   Primary Artist,Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Trumpet,Electric Bass,Drums,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Kalimba,Whistle (Instrument),Track Performer,Acoustic Bass,fender rhodes
Wayne Krantz   Guitar
Chris Gekker   Piccolo Trumpet
Jay Leonhart   Acoustic Bass
Ben Monder   Guitar
Michelle Wiley   Vocals
François Zalacain   Whistle (Instrument)
Marko Ahtisaari   Electric Bass
Tobias Gebb   Drums
Mauro Refosco   Percussion,Berimbau,Vibes
Paul Tripp   Melodica
Carolyn Leonhart   Vocals
Dan Cooper   Flute
Joe Martin   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Donna Leonhart   Vocals
Joe Strasser   Drums
Carolyn Kelley   Vocals

Technical Credits

A.T. Michael MacDonald   Engineer
Michael Leonhart   Producer,Liner Notes
François Zalacain   Executive Producer
Christopher Drukker   Artwork

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews