God Is: A Devotional Guide to the Attributes of God

God Is: A Devotional Guide to the Attributes of God

by Mark Jones

Hardcover

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 20

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781433555626
Publisher: Crossway
Publication date: 06/30/2017
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 531,371
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.60(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Mark Jonesserves as the pastor of Faith Vancouver Presbyterian Church (PCA) in British Columbia, Canada, and research associate at the University of the Free State in South Africa. He has authored several books and speaks all over the world on Christology and the Christian life.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“In twenty-seven concise chapters, God Is invites, equips, edifies, comforts, and challenges God’s people to know God better and love him more. This is Mark Jones at his best, combining his theological breadth and depth with his pastor’s heart.”
Rosaria Butterfield,Former Professor of English, Syracuse University; author, The Gospel Comes with a House Key

“Most treatments of God’s attributes are like vast mining operations that use massive theological machinery to plumb the depths of divine revelation. Mark Jones hands us the diamonds of God’s perfections, already mined, cut, and polished, to enrich our souls immeasurably. Study this book, read it with your family, discuss it with your small group, teach it to your church class, and give it to your neighbor. This is a gem indeed!”
Joel R. Beeke, President and Professor of Systematic Theology and Homiletics, Puritan Reformed Theological Seminary; Pastor, Heritage Reformed Congregation, Grand Rapids, Michigan; author, Reformed Preaching

“Written in the tradition of J. I. Packer's Knowing God, Jones's work is an extremely helpful and needful primer on our great God and his all-beautiful character. Highly recommended as a tool for personal devotion or group study.”
Michael A. G. Haykin, Professor of Church History and Biblical Spirituality, The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary

“Mark Jones has offered the church a real gift in this book. His methodology is governed not only by the wise conviction that theology and application go together but also by the unwavering belief that to know God one must gaze upon his fullest self-revelation in Christ. In this light, he offers an accessible treatment of the divine attributes written not for academics but for faithful laity seeking to consider the wonder of God.”
Kelly M. Kapic, author, Embodied Hope; Professor of Theological Studies, Covenant College

“Given the preoccupation in some evangelical circles with discovering the ‘practical’ outcome of every text, it is refreshing to have a book that enables us to simply contemplate and consider the nature and attributes of the God who is there. Never has evangelicalism been so confused or divided over that One who is the center and substance of our confessed faith. Never has there been such a clear need for every believer to sit down and examine and worship what has been revealed of the God who has saved us through his gospel.”
Liam Goligher,Senior Minister, Tenth Presbyterian Church, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; author, The Jesus Gospel

“God is strangely absent from much contemporary Christ-centered preaching. This absence reflects not only a theological deficit but also a truncated view of Christ and the gospel. Mark Jones’s devotional guide to the attributes of God is therefore a welcome contribution to the libraries of both pastor and layperson. God Is reliably unfolds the perfections of our triune God as revealed in Holy Scripture and confessed by the church, and it traces the various rays of God’s perfections as they shine forth in the face of Jesus Christ.”
Scott R. Swain,President and James Woodrow Hassell Professor of Systematic Theology, Reformed Theological Seminary, Orlando

“While the Christ-centered characteristic of historic Reformed theology has been well documented in contemporary scholarship, Mark Jones is, to my knowledge, the only Reformed dogmatician of our day to have offered a thoroughly and explicitly Christocentric account of the divine attributes in ordinary language and pastorally applied this theology proper to the mundane spiritual life of the believer. If any contemporary book deserves the status of a sequel to Packer’s Knowing God and the author’s own Knowing Christ, this is it.”
Shao Kai Tseng,Research Professor, Department of Philosophy, Zhejiang University; author, Karl Barth’s Infralapsarian Theology; contributor, Oxford Handbook of Nineteenth-Century Christian Thought

“Mark Jones continues to prove to be an especially reliable, pastoral guide in doctrine for the broader church. In the spirit of the great Puritan tradition—from which he so ably quotes—Jones once again melds depth and devotion, precision and passion, further proving J. I. Packer’s axiom that ‘true theology is for doxology.’ Read God Is slowly, meditatively, with prayer, with others—and see if your thoughts of God are not greatly enlarged, reinvigorated, and warmed. It is a book I will suggest, give away, and return to myself for years to come.”
Ryan Kelly,Pastor of Preaching, Desert Springs Church, Albuquerque, New Mexico; Council Member, The Gospel Coalition

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews