Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Gold in a Brass Age

Gold in a Brass Age

by David Gray David Gray
Gold in a Brass Age

Gold in a Brass Age

by David Gray David Gray


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 12


Working with producer Ben De Vries, David Gray deepens and sharpens his folk-electronic fusion on 2019's Gold in a Brass Age. The main difference between Gold in a Brass Age and its predecessor, Mutineers -- a 2014 album helmed by Andy Barlow, one of the founders of the trip-hop group Lamb -- is that Gray pushes soul to the forefront here. Soul can be heard in the elastic rhythms, which split the difference between a swinging live section and the precision of drum loops, and within his dusky, nuanced vocal phrasing. Such a lush, soulful sway helps sell Gray's songs, which are etched with the care of a short-story author. Gray's devotion to detail is as apparent in his melodies as it is in the lyrics, which means that the individual moments on Gold in a Brass Age take a little while to unfold, and that's why De Vries' production is essential to the album's success. Warm and enveloping, it offers immediate comfort, easing the listener into a world so textured and reassuring it invites the kind of revisits that will let the songs unlock their internal logic at their own speed.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2019
Label: Iht Records
UPC: 5056167111009
catalogNumber: 1815
Rank: 183699


  1. The Sapling
  2. Gold in a Brass Age
  3. Furthering
  4. Ridiculous Heart
  5. It's Late
  6. A Tight Ship
  7. Watching the Waves
  8. Hall of Mirrors
  9. Hurricane Season
  10. Mallory
  11. If 8 Were 9

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Gray   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Bass,Flute,Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Harmonium,Keyboards,Vocals,Melodion,Melodica,Wurlitzer,Toy Piano,Guitar (Nylon String)
Caroline Dale   Cello
Chris Barrett   Tuba
Keith Prior   Percussion,Drums
Michael Smith   Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Trevor Mires   Euphonium
Steve Price   Horn Engineer
Robbie Malone   Bass,Electric Guitar,Upright Bass
Rory Simmons   Trumpet
Stephanie Oyerinde   Background Vocals
Tom Richards   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Dom Kelly   Cor anglais
Ben De Vries   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Keyboards,Wurlitzer
Eoghan Kelly   Trombone
Sherina White   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

David Gray   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Original Sleeve Design
Keith Prior   Composer,Programming
Michael Smith   Score
Amanda Chiu   Original Sleeve Design
Robbie Malone   Composer
Ben De Vries   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Hugh Fothergill   Engineer,Additional Production
Londonboy Tattooer   Illustrations

Customer Reviews