by The Allman Brothers Band
5.0 2


$9.82 $10.99 Save 11% Current price is $9.82, Original price is $10.99. You Save 11%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, March 22 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.



Essentially the Allman Brothers Band's Gold collection is an expanded version of both the Universal Masters and 20th Century Masters collections. It contains two discs that total 30 cuts and cover the band's catalog from 1969's Allman Brothers Band to 1975's Enlightened Rogues. There are five cuts from the first album, including the original studio version of "Whipping Post," and four from Idlewild South, including the studio read of "Midnight Ride." The cuts from At Fillmore East number four with the inclusion of the 13-minute "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed," and five from Eat a Peach, including "Melissa," "Blue Sky," and "Ain't Wasting Time No More." Five cuts come from Brothers and Sisters and, yes, "Ramblin' Man" and "Jessica" are among them. There is one swipe off Wipe the Windows, Check the Oil, Dollar Gas; two from Win, Lose or Draw; and three from Enlightened Rogues. In other words, fans have everything already, and for those who are just being introduced to the ABB through their latter incarnation with Warren Haynes and Derek Trucks, there is a lot here, though beginning with At Fillmore East probably makes much more sense.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/11/2005
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0602498843796
catalogNumber: 000532802
Rank: 6285

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Allman Brothers Band   Primary Artist
Gregg Allman   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Clavinet,fender rhodes
Dickey Betts   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Slide Guitar
Bonnie Bramlett   Background Vocals
Dudek   Acoustic Guitar
Duane Allman   Acoustic Guitar,Slide Guitar
Thom Doucette   Harmonica,Percussion
Jim Essery   Harmonica
David Goldflies   Bass,Bass Guitar
Joe Lala   Percussion
Chuck Leavell   Piano,Electric Piano,Background Vocals,Clavinet,Moog Synthesizer
Berry Oakley   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Sandlin   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion
Dan Toler   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Butch Trucks   Percussion,Conga,Drums,Maracas,Timbales,Background Vocals,Timpani
Lamar Williams   Bass,Bass Guitar
Jai Johanny Johanson   Drums

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
Blind Willie McTell   Composer
Gregg Allman   Composer
Dickey Betts   Composer
T-Bone Walker   Composer
Duane Allman   Composer
Adrian Barber   Producer,Audio Production
Tom Dowd   Producer,Audio Production
Elmore James   Composer
McKinley Morganfield   Composer
Muddy Waters   Composer
Berry Oakley   Composer
Johnny Sandlin   Producer
Marshall Sehorn   Composer
Butch Trucks   Composer
Richard Betts   Composer
Vartan   Art Direction
Spencer Davis   Composer
Dave Thompson   Liner Notes,Essay
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Stephen Paley   Cover Photo,Inlay Photography

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Gold 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
glauver More than 1 year ago
Let's get the deception out of the way. This is merely the retitled Road Goes On Forever CD collection with a new cover and title. Frankly, I like the old cover better. How the BMG reviewer overlooked that fact is puzzling. I am reviewing my RGOF collection here since it is out of print. This is some of the best blues rock ever recorded. Not only were Duane Allman and Dickey Betts a great team, but Gregg Allman's vocals and organ and the rhythm section were also top notch. No Southern band could touch them.After Duane's untimely death the band moved more into country and jazz. Disc 1 and the first few cuts on Disx 2 feature Duane and the rest is from 1972-79. Except for In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed, the tracks are under 10 minutes. If you are interested in their long jams, get one of the complete Fillmore sets and the Atlanta Pop Festival set.