Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight

Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight

by Sid King & the Five StringsSid King & the Five Strings


$18.94 $18.99 Save 0% Current price is $18.94, Original price is $18.99. You Save 0%.


Sid King and the Five Strings were one of the weirdest and most enjoyable of the pre-rock & roll hillbilly country bands. Not only did King and the Five Strings play country boogie and nervy honky tonk, they tore their way through R&B and blues, performing all their songs with a wild, backwoods humor. Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight contains all 29 songs the group recorded between 1953 and 1959. Primarily, this is music for collectors -- though there is a lot of really weird, wonderful proto-rock & roll here, you have to have a taste for the obscure to truly appreciate it. For those that have a taste for the obscure, the music on Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight is a true treasure.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/27/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127155351
catalogNumber: 15535


  1. I Like It
  2. Crazy Little Heart
  3. Put Something in the Pot Boy
  4. Drinkin' Wine, Spo-Dee-O-Dee
  5. But I Don't Care
  6. Mama, I Want You
  7. Purr, Kitty, Purr
  8. Sag, Drag, and Fall
  9. Blue Suede Shoes
  10. Let 'Er Roll
  11. Booger Red
  12. Ooby Dooby
  13. When My Baby Left Me
  14. Good Rockin' Baby
  15. Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight
  16. It's True, I'm Blue
  17. I've Got the Blues
  18. Warmed Over Kisses (Left Over Love)
  19. What Have Ya Got to Lose
  20. Twenty One
  21. I Cried
  22. Oh What You Do to Me
  23. Hello There Rockin' Chair
  24. Once upon a Time
  25. Who Put the Turtle in Myrtle's Girdle
  26. If Tears Could Cry
  27. How Easy Was It Dear
  28. When My Baby Left Me
  29. Good Rockin' Baby

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sid King   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Paul Buskirk   Guitar,Mandolin
Melvin Robinson   Guitar,Steel Guitar
William Simmons   Piano
Mark Wilder   Overdubs
Cecil Brower   Fiddle
Bill Erwin   Guitar
Jimmy Rollins   Guitar
Buddy Brady   Fiddle
Bill Simmons   Piano
David L. White   Guitar,Drums,Leader,Vocals,Background Vocals
Sidney Erwin   Guitar,Leader,Vocals
Dewey Meadows   Piano
William F. Pecchi   Drums
Jimmy Pruett   Piano
Marion Z. "Pee Wee" Adams   Drums
Dave White   Drums,Background Vocals
Scott Clinton   Saxophone
Louis Butterman   Bass
Kenneth David Massey   Bass

Technical Credits

Sid King   Producer,Illustrations
Colin Escott   Liner Notes
Don Law   Producer
Ben Weisman   Composer
Mark Wilder   Disc Dub
Hoffmann Nienburg   Artwork,Art Direction
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer
Five Strings   Producer
Alvin Hankerson   Composer

Customer Reviews