Goodbye, Rebel Blue

Goodbye, Rebel Blue

by Shelley Coriell

Hardcover

$16.16 $17.95 Save 10% Current price is $16.16, Original price is $17.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

Praise for Goodbye, Rebel Blue
"As true as the blue streak in her hair, Rebel will encourage readers to follow their own hearts and dreams."
Kirkus Reviews 

"Readers will root for Rebel as she makes a sincere effort to befriend a detention acquaintance and as she falls for kind-hearted Nate."
School Library Journal
 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781419709302
Publisher: ABRAMS
Publication date: 10/01/2013
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile: HL730L (what's this?)
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author

Shelley Coriell is the author of Welcome, Caller, This Is Chloe. She has worked as a newspaper reporter, an award-winning magazine editor, and an association executive. She is a six-time finalist for the Romance Writers of America Golden Heart Prize. She lives in Tempe, Arizona. Visit her online at shelleycoriell.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Goodbye, Rebel Blue 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The librarian a my school said this is the best book then my english teacher said to read so i would like fir somebody lo lend me this book
YoungMensanBookParade More than 1 year ago
Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell is a fictional novel about a modern teenager who is, quite frankly, different. Rebecca "Rebel" Blue was raised in the back seat of her adventurous mother's jeep, traveling the world and living an extraordinary life. However, when she loses her beloved mother, Rebel is thrown into her sophisticated Aunt Evelyn's household, where she is forced into a world that is simply not hers. Years later, Rebel is an uncooperative, angry teen who does everything in her power to annoy her aunt and teachers and guards herself from others. However, two hours in detention with her goody-goody classmate Kennedy Green change everything. In detention, the two girls make bucket lists, enumerating all the things they want to do before they die. The next day, when Rebel discovers that Kennedy was killed driving home from detention, she endeavors to complete the dead girl's bucket list for her. The delinquent Rebel begins making nests for endangered birds, running on the school track team, and giving out burritos to homeless people. However, along her begrudging journey through the list, what will Rebel discover about herself? Good Bye, Rebel Blue is a book of destiny and fate. In the novel, Rebel explores many questions that she, along with most other people, had never considered before: When thousands of people die each day, why are you still here? Who really controls your life? Are you living your own dreams or others' expectations? The book is rich in not only thought-provoking insight but also humor. The book is a wonderful choice for teens, who will enjoy the read while also benefiting from its advice and themes. Goodbye, Rebel Blue will challenge your opinions and broaden your insight; it definitely deserves to be read review by Isabella T., age 14, Memphis Mensa
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to ABRAMS and Netgalley.) Sixteen-year-old Rebecca (Rebel) Blue hardly knows Kennedy green, but a chance meeting in detention suddenly seems to have meaning when the next day Kennedy crashes her car and dies. The police have no idea if it was a suicide or an accident, but Rebel sees it as a sign, and immediately goes to the detention room to get something that Kennedy threw in the trash when they were together – her bucket list. As much as Rebel tries to get rid of the list though, it seems to not want to leave her, and she realises that she needs to complete Kennedy’s bucket list for her. Can Rebel complete good-girl-Kennedy’s bucket list? What will she learn about herself as she does it? And is she really that much of a Rebel? This was an okay story, but I found myself losing interest. Rebel was an okay character, but for someone who liked breaking rules and making statements, I didn’t quite get why she felt the need to complete Kennedy’s bucket list – I mean they weren’t even friends really, and the point of a bucket list is that YOU do it, BEFORE you die. Somebody else completing your bucket list after you’re dead doesn’t seem to really accomplish the goal to me. The storyline in this was okay, but it sounded better in the blurb than it really was. The whole point of the story seemed to be about Rebel becoming a better person through doing good little Kennedy’s bucket list, but I actually thought that Rebel was perfectly okay as she was to start with, and I didn’t really see why she needed to improve herself. Kennedy seem fairly happy with who Rebel was when she actually spoke to her, so why did she need to change? Annoyingly enough, Rebel’s bucket list was actually a lot funnier than Kennedy’s as well. Jumping in a taxi and shouting ‘follow that car!’ sounds much more fun that adopting a turtle. There was a touch of romance in this, but nothing special unfortunately. The ending was also okay, but again, nothing special, and I had problems staying focused on this book as it just seemed a little dull to me. Overall; an okay story about a girl, and a dead girls bucket list. 6.5 out of 10.
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
This is a great book! I was immediately drown to it because of the synopsis. I mean death is huge. It makes me think about our lives and how short they really are. Do you have a bucket list? Will you do someone else’s bucket list? Plot: The reader meets Rebel. A girl handed some bad cards and learning to move on. She is introduced to another girl during detention who questioned Rebel’s life. Then she dies. And her bucket list is in Rebel hands. I love this. Watching Rebel complete the bucket list of a dead girl is amazing. The plot flows well, allowing the reader to fully grasp what the bucket list is doing to Rebel. It’s just awesome! The bucket list: By Rebel doing the bucket list it changed Rebel. It help her looks at things in a whole new perspective. Some good and some bad. But she changed. Watching Rebel struggle and even face her fears in doing the bucket list made me proud of her. No one pushed her and told her to do it, she did it because she wanted too. Death: Death makes me questions a lot of things. What would you do if you only had one day to live? Where would you go? What would you confess? Rebel’s life has been consumed by death. By the death of her own loved ones, Rebel begins to wonder about her own life. And in doing that she…. Falling in love: This little area of the book I was so surprised and awed at! I love that this friendship grew into something more. That this bucket list not only changed Rebel but changed the guy too. Remember, it’s your life. And what you make of it, is up to you. This is a fantastic book that I can totally re-visit again. It had a certain appeal that I could not look away from. Goodbye, Rebel Blue is a powerful story and sensitive story that is deeply moving. Truthful yet satisfying, Goodbye, Rebel Blue is great!