Gotham Girl Interrupted: My Misadventures in Motherhood, Love, and Epilepsy

Gotham Girl Interrupted: My Misadventures in Motherhood, Love, and Epilepsy

by Alisa Kennedy Jones

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Overview

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey and Jenny Lawson, Gotham Girl Interrupted offers a hilarious, heartfelt, and fiercely candid memoir about life as a hapless writer, single parent, impassioned city girl, and epileptic.

Smart stand-up comedy about the power of falling down, Gotham Girl Interrupted is loaded with brash truths and laugh-out-loud moments about the epileptic age and culture in which we all live. It's also a dispatch from the frontlines of neurodiversity. Above all, it's about the battle for becoming who you are supposed to be and finding your tribe—no matter how much flopping around on the ground and wetting yourself you have to do to get there.

With wit and humility, Alisa Kennedy Jones chronicles her experiences after a diagnosis of ecstatic epilepsy (also suffered by Dostoevsky, Van Gogh, Da Vinci and Agatha Christie). Beginning with the first in a series of terrifying yet beautiful grand mal seizures, which she likens to "swallowing a bolt of lightning," each seizure leaves her with what Zen Buddhists sometimes refer to as a "beginner's mind"—a vast, open expanse of headspace, coupled with a creative euphoria. It's a state that renders you less encumbered by everything you've already learned, but also challenged by having to relearn some of the more basic aspects of daily life.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781623545284
Publisher: Charlesbridge
Publication date: 11/06/2018
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 1,204,989
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Alisa Kennedy Jones is a writer for TV and theater, with credits including A Girl and a Gun, Ulutwatu and Gifted. She also has a background working in digital advertising, branding and strategy for clients such as GE, Coca-Cola, Tommy Hilfiger, Disney, Electronic Arts and Colgate-Palmolive. She writes the blog Gotham Girl (currently almost 30,000 followers on Twitter) and is an NPR commentator who is active in the autism, human rights, and neurodiversity communities. She lives in New York City.

Read an Excerpt

Hello friend! Thank you for picking up this book or for borrowing it from some well-intentioned acquaintance. And thank you, well-intentioned acquaintance, for foisting it upon some unsuspecting reader!
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Gotham Girl Interrupted"
by .
Copyright © 2018 Alisa Kennedy Jones.
Excerpted by permission of Charlesbridge Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Table of Contents

Introduction, xi,
1 "The Big One" (2015), 1,
2 Everything in New York Is a Little Bit Broken, 9,
3 The Unbearable Brightness of Being, 20,
4 Where the Hell Is My White Light?, 33,
5 Angry Mothertrucker, 45,
6 Oh, the Pie-rony ..., 58,
7 D-day, 67,
8 The Cocktail Hour(s), 77,
9 Why Yes, I Am a Cyborg, 92,
10 Dostoyevsky's Addiction, 101,
11 When Mom Is a Werewolf, 114,
12 Everything in New York Is a Little Bit Broken (Part 2), 124,
13 Unspeakable, 130,
14 Get Your Freak On, 141,
15 I Feel Bad About My Face, 150,
16 Gotham Girl, Interrupted, 174,
17 DNR, 184,
18 A Love Letter from My Brain, 187,
19 The New Rules of You, 190,
Epilogue: On Being a Narwhal, 199,
Acknowledgments, 207,

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews