Pub. Date:
Gotta Let This Hen Out! [Bonus Tracks]

Gotta Let This Hen Out! [Bonus Tracks]

by Robyn Hitchcock & the EgyptiansRobyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians


$10.17 $11.99 Save 15% Current price is $10.17, Original price is $11.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


Recorded at the Marquee in London shortly after the release of Fegmania!, the live Gotta Let This Hen Out! is a tense and exciting record, finding the raw energy that usually goes untapped in Robyn Hitchcock's music. Although the album makes the Egyptians sound more like a rock & roll band than they actually were -- they never played with such reckless abandon before or since -- the driving performances don't wreck the melodic and lyrical eccentricities of the songs; instead, the increased vigor gives the music a searing power, obliterating the notion that Hitchcock's songs are delicate and precious. The set list also accentuates Hitchcock's strengths, relying on his most accessible and melodic material, whether it's newer Egyptians material like "Egyptian Cream," "Sometimes I Wish I Was a Pretty Girl," and "Acid Bird," or earlier Soft Boys tracks like "Kingdom of Love," "Only the Stones Remain," "The Face of Death," and "Leppo and the Jooves." [In 2008 Yep Roc released a new version of Gotta Let This Hen Out! that included the original album re-mastered, bonus cuts and expanded packaging.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/19/2008
Label: Yep Roc Records
UPC: 0634457261723
catalogNumber: 2617


  1. Sometimes I Wish I Was a Pretty Girl
  2. Kingdom of Love
  3. Acid Bird
  4. The Cars She Used to Drive
  5. My Wife and My Dead Wife
  6. Brenda's Iron Sledge
  7. The Fly
  8. Only the Stones Remain
  9. Egyptian Cream
  10. Leppo and the Jooves
  11. America
  12. Heaven
  13. Listening to the Higsons
  14. The Face of Death
  15. If You Were a Priest
  16. Freeze
  17. I'm Only You
  18. Unsettled
  19. [Untitled]

Album Credits

Customer Reviews