Grace of Giving

Grace of Giving

by Marja Meijers




In Grace of Giving, the fourth book in this series, Marja Meijers answers these questions by taking an in-depth look at the commandment 'do not steal'. Marja offers a liberating and fresh insight on the eighth commandment as she shares how we can leave behind the way of the thief, which always cries for more, more, more. We are programmed to spend most of our lives accumulating possessions, whether they are the house, the car, the boat, the job, the money or the mate we desire. We think this will make us happier and give us a more fulfilled life. How can we shift that all-too-human attitude of gathering into an attitude of giving? In her known step-by-step method she slowly reveals the way of the Master, which is cheerful, abundant, and costly giving that will lead us into a life in all its fullness! Part of 'The Ten Commandments Series'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781617390784
Publisher: Tate Publishing & Enterprises, L.L.C.
Publication date: 01/25/2011
Pages: 118
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.40(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Grace of Giving 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Barbara_Ell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I received this Advanced Reader Copy via Good Reads.While many consider giving in the church context revolves around money, Marja Meijers takes it a step farther and explains that giving is the entire being of a Christian. Through the giving of ourselves we reach the fullness of our walk with God. Meijers twists the commandment "Do not steal" into the Christian tenet of following Christ.This book, although easy reading, gives deep profound thoughts. I have highlighted numerous passages, and made notes throughout the book. Many of the explanations of various verses broaden my mind in thinking of other examples outside of the giving thought process that I could apply to other aspects of my life
Lorrie58 More than 1 year ago
After finishing this book, I had 3 pages of notes that I took along the way! I hardly know where to begin except to say that I love every page of this book. I will never think of the commandment.. "do not steal" the same way again. I have come away enlightened, inspired, challenged and positive that this little book is anointed and was written just for me! (and you ;-) I think the flowers on the cover are no coincidence because all the way through I felt little spiritual and soul awakenings blossom within me. I learned the difference between being obedient and fulfilling the law. A real eye-opener! I learned how the way of the thief is more than just not stealing. The section on rebirth and salvation made my heart pound with expectation. This book is timely in my life. I will not set it aside without application. I could say so much but I don't want to spoil it for those who have yet to read and discover what the Grace of Giving is really all about. This book is a gem to the Christian body. Thank you Marja Meijers for writing it. I'm truly blessed by it!!
Toni59 More than 1 year ago
Do not steal! Author, Marja Meijers leaves you wanting more in her book, Grace of Giving. Marja brings to light the eighth commandment in a way that makes one understand, the blessing is not in the taking or accumulation of possessions but rather in the simple act of giving. Giving encompasses so much more than our money. What about giving of our time? A close friend once told me about how her neighbor's house burned down and how she felt led to give her some clothing. She selected some older items from her closest and upon doing so, felt an overwhelming conviction to give her neighbor the best garments she owned. This is true giving. Giving the very best we have. My favorite chapter in this book was chapter 8, Salvation of our Soul. Marja takes you on a journey explaining the difference between our soul and spirit. At the end of each chapter, she lists three questions and an area to journal your thoughts. I would highly recommend this book to any bible study group. I had no idea this book was the fourth in a series regarding the Ten Commandments. I'm looking forward to reading her previous works.