Grandfather's Journey

Grandfather's Journey

by Allen Say

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 1

Overview

In this Caldecott Medalwinning picture book, master storyteller Allen Say chronicles his family’s history between Japan and California. A lyrical, breathtaking tale of one man’s love for two countries, Grandfather’s Journey is perfect for fans of Dreamers, A Different Pond, and Thank You, Omu!

Through pensive portraits and delicately faded art, Allen Say pays tribute to his grandfather’s persistent longing for home that continues within Allen.

This restlessness and constant desire to be in two places speaks to a universal experience as well as the deeply personal ties of family to place, and what it means to be at home in more than one country.

Both a celebration of heritage and a poignant exploration of the struggles we inherit, Grandfather’s Journey is a modern classic perfect for every household.
 


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780547076805
Publisher: HMH Books
Publication date: 10/27/2008
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 32
Sales rank: 64,099
Product dimensions: 9.30(w) x 11.30(h) x 0.20(d)
Lexile: AD650L (what's this?)
Age Range: 5 - 8 Years

About the Author

Allen Say was born in Yokohama, Japan, in 1937. He dreamed of becoming a cartoonist from the age of six, and, at age twelve, apprenticed himself to his favorite cartoonist, Noro Shinpei. For the next four years, Say learned to draw and paint under the direction of Noro, who has remained Say's mentor. Say illustrated his first children's book—published in 1972—in a photo studio between shooting assignments. For years, Say continued writing and illustrating children's books on a part-time basis. But in 1987, while illustrating THE BOY OF THE THREE-YEAR NAP (Caldecott Honor Medal), he recaptured the joy he had known as a boy working in his master's studio. It was then that Say decided to make a full commitment to doing what he loves best: writing and illustrating children's books. Since then, he has written and illustrated many books, including TREE OF CRANES and GRANDFATHER'S JOURNEY, winner of the 1994 Caldecott Medal. He is a full-time writer and illustrator living in Portland, Oregon.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"The immigrant experience has rarely been so poignantly evoked as it is in this direct, lyrical narrative that is able to stir emotions through the sheer simplicity of its telling." Horn Book, Starred

Library Media Connection

Customer Reviews