A mixture of rap-metal, hip-hop, alternative rock, and Bill Laswell's original score, the soundtrack to Gravesend captures the feeling of dread and violence at the heart of the film (right down to including brief, though sufficiently intriguing, snippets of the film's dialogue). Lordz of Brooklyn's title cut makes the point clearly, even going so far as to sample the Meat Puppets' "Lake of Fire" for an added touch of spookiness. Though Local H's Christmas song seems to be here purely because it appears in the film, their other original fits in well. The brutality of Cypress Hill's cut and the murky, unnerving Everlast song also works effectively. By contrast, the other Lordz of Brooklyn songs rely too much on rap-metal theatrics to really be as powerful. Similarly, Cake's country parody "Multiply the Heartaches" sounds woefully out of place amidst all the darkness. The real heart of the soundtrack, though, is Bill Laswell's original score, which is as impressive as much of the work he's done for his groups Material and Praxis. By incorporating the Indian, Arabic, and hip-hop influences he's most famous for, Laswell delivers a score that not only complements the film, but stands up as listenable in its own right. What's more, it also fits in well with the mood established by the previous tracks (which is all the more surprising considering he had little or nothing to do with selecting them). Apart from some clinkers, Gravesend is a surprisingly cohesive soundtrack, and fans of the artists' previous works, especially Bill Laswell's, should especially check it out.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/19/1997
Label: Polygram Records
UPC: 0731452443229
catalogNumber: 524432


  1. Not Another Saturday Night
  2. Saturday Night Fever, Pt. 2  -  Lordz of Brooklyn
  3. Joe Joe's Place
  4. Ninth Symphony  -  Call O'Da Wild
  5. And a Thumb
  6. Gravesend (Lake of Fire)  -  Lordz of Brooklyn
  7. And Three Thumbs
  8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas  -  Local H
  9. Stupid
  10. Kingdom Come  -  Lordz of Brooklyn
  11. Pussy
  12. Some Nights (Are Better Than Others)  -  Everlast
  13. Mary (The Slut)
  14. Tag-Along  -  Local H
  15. Mother
  16. Multiply the Heartaches  -  Cake
  17. Brooklyn Lullaby  -  Lordz of Brooklyn
  18. Heaven  -  Jake
  19. The Abyss
  20. Gravesend Theme
  21. Sleepless Nights
  22. El Mariachi Loco
  23. Gravesend Prelude
  24. Gravesend Symphony
  25. Arch Angels
  26. Gravesend Theme

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews