Pub. Date:
Greatest Hits [Rhino]

Greatest Hits [Rhino]

by The AssociationThe Association


$9.99 $12.99 Save 23% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $12.99. You Save 23%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, September 27


Beyond representing the best in '60s California pop, the Association blazed trails in album production and the folk-psychedelia genre. With the guidance of L.A. producers Bones Howe, Curt Boettcher, and Jerry Yester, the band deftly mixed airy harmonies, unobtrusive rhythm tracks, and subtle "Age of Aquarius" accents from harpsichords, Farfisa organs, fuzz-box guitars, trumpets, and bongos -- at times, the sophisticated blend was held together by L.A. session players. And while the Association successfully expanded their harmonic horizons on "Requiem for the Masses," they also went a bit beyond their strengths with Jefferson Airplane-esque rockers like "Six Man Band." Luckily, the majority of this hits collection focuses on the band's dreamy combination of polished folk, limber vocal arrangements, and wide-screen instrumental backdrops. The summery program also includes chart-toppers like "Windy," "Cherish," "Along Comes Mary," and "Never My Love," along with progressive pop-and-harmony tracks like "No Fair at All," "Everything That Touches You," and "Time for Livin'." A great introduction to the band's prime work from the latter half of the '60s.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/28/2004
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227646929
catalogNumber: 76469
Rank: 4717


  1. The Time It Is Today
  2. Everything That Touches You
  3. Like Always
  4. Never My Love
  5. Requiem for the Masses
  6. Along Comes Mary
  7. Enter the Young
  8. No Fair at All
  9. Time for Livin'
  10. We Love
  11. Cherish
  12. Windy
  13. Six Man Band

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Association   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Curt Boettcher   Producer
Russ Giguere   Composer
Ruthann Friedman   Composer
Don Addrisi   Composer
Bob Alcivar   Composer
Ted Bluechel   Composer
Screamin' Jay Hawkins   Composer
Bones Howe   Producer
Terry Kirkman   Composer
Tony Ortega   Composer
Larry Ramos   Composer
Jerry Yester   Producer
Jim Yester   Composer
Tandyn Almer   Composer
Dick Addrisi   Composer
Ed Thrasher   Art Direction
James Metropole   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews