ISBN-10:
1402225180
ISBN-13:
9781402225185
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
The Greatest Knight: The Unsung Story of the Queen's Champion

The Greatest Knight: The Unsung Story of the Queen's Champion

by Elizabeth Chadwick

Paperback(Reprint)

$20.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 1

Overview

THE NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around."—Historical Novels Review

Royal protector. Loyal servant. Forgotten hero.

12th century, England: A penniless young knight with few prospects, William Marshal is plucked from obscurity when he saves the life of Henry II's formidable queen, Eleanor of Aquitaine. In gratitude, she appoints him tutor to the heir to the throne, the volatile and fickle Prince Henry. But being a royal favorite brings its share of danger and jealousy as well as fame and reward.

A writer of uncommon historical integrity and accuracy, Elizabeth Chadwick resurrects the true story of one of England's greatest forgotten heroes in a captivating blend of fact and fiction. The Greatest Knight restores William Marshal to his rightful place at the pinnacle of the British Middle Ages, reflecting through him the triumphs, scandals, and power struggles that haven't changed in eight hundred years.

Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Susanna Kearsley, or Diana Gabaldon are sure to recognize The Greatest Knight as exceptional historical fiction, bringing medieval Britain to brilliant life.

More Novels of Elizabeth Chadwick's William Marshal:
The Greatest Knight
The Scarlet Lion
For the King's Favor
Templar Silks
To Defy a King



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781402225185
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 09/01/2009
Series: William Marshal
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 560
Sales rank: 191,233
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Elizabeth Chadwick lives near Nottingham with her husband and two sons. She is the author of 17 historical novels, including Lords of the White Castle, Shadows and Strongholds, A Place Beyond Courage, The Scarlet Lion, The Winter Mantle, and The Falcons of Montebard, four of which have been shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Awards.

Customer Reviews