Greatest Recordings

Greatest Recordings

by The Diplomats The Diplomats
Greatest Recordings

Greatest Recordings

by The Diplomats The Diplomats


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 15


The Diplomats were good singers and harmonizers, but like so many journeyman soul groups of their time, they never got hold of material that demanded to be a hit, or developed a personality on record that was impossible to ignore. They did make a good number of singles for various labels, however, and this typically well-packaged Ace/Kent compilation brings together 25 tracks they did between 1963 and 1970, a half-dozen of which were previously unreleased. It's something like a skip through the uptown soul styles of the '60s, with some of the earliest cuts still dragging one foot out of the doo wop era, and later ones boasting more polished East Coast soul production on both danceable midtempo numbers and proto-sweet soul ballads. It's all amiable enough, though not remarkable in any way. They did, however, have some associations with interesting larger figures, with Van McCoy involved in some of their early recordings on the writing and production end, as was Charlie Foxx in the late '60s. They also did an early Nickolas Ashford-Valerie Simpson composition, "Love Ain't What It Used to Be," on a 1965 single. Echoes of the Drifters, Sam Cooke, and Marvin Gaye are heard on some other tracks, which was likely part of why the Diplomats didn't get out of the minor leagues, as they didn't create a striking niche of their own.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/10/2004
Label: Kent Records Uk
UPC: 0029667223225
catalogNumber: 232
Rank: 111802


  1. Perfect Love
  2. I Really Love You
  3. Our Love Has Changed
  4. Don't Ever Go
  5. Accept Me
  6. I'm So Glad I Found You
  7. Our Love Has Changed
  8. Love Ain't What It Used to Be
  9. I Really Love You
  10. Jerking Time
  11. Honest to Goodness
  12. Don't Bug Me
  13. I Can Give You Love
  14. He's Got You Now
  15. Help Me
  16. Forever
  17. Sure as the Stars Shine
  18. So Far Away
  19. I've Got the Kind of Love
  20. I Am a Witness
  21. Don't Ever Go
  22. Unchained Melody
  23. Walk With Me
  24. Hey, Mr. Taxi Driver
  25. Soul Teacher

Album Credits

Customer Reviews