Greed and Retribution: The Carruthers Collection and Other Twisty Tales

Greed and Retribution: The Carruthers Collection and Other Twisty Tales

by Jemima Pett
Greed and Retribution: The Carruthers Collection and Other Twisty Tales

Greed and Retribution: The Carruthers Collection and Other Twisty Tales

by Jemima Pett



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


Carruthers is a less modern (and less likeable) Indiana Jones. He channels the classic adventurers of the past: Alain Quatermaine, She, Beau Geste, the Land that Time Forgot, all mixed in with my father’s adventures in Africa in the 1930s.
Exactly how many Carruthers there are is a mystery. Does Carruthers get reborn, or does he have nine lives? Is he an escapologist? How does he find the time to father legitimate offspring, as there is a Carruthers XXIV who turns up in a futuristic adventure. Who is the long-suffering wife at home? Or are they all clones? Some Carruthers-like explorers have different names, but they are all from the same old school—and probably wear the same tie when they visit their club in London.
Among these flash fiction stories (generally c1000 words each) there are other collectors and receivers of ancient or dubious goods that maybe should have been left behind. Some are even quite nice people. There are also tales of what retribution might be meted out, and my vision of hell, where someone works hard to give them what they deserve.
Whoever these reprobates are, I think they all deserve what they get. Mostly.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940164813864
Publisher: Princelings Publications
Publication date: 05/06/2021
Series: Unexpected Twisty Tales
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: eBook
File size: 329 KB

About the Author

Jemima Pett has been living in a world of her own for many years. Writing stories since she was eight, drawing maps of fantasy islands with train systems and timetables at ten. Unfortunately no-one wanted a fantasy island designer, so she tried a few careers, getting great experiences in business, environmental research and social work. She finally got back to building her own worlds, and wrote about them. Her business background enabled her to become an independent author, responsible for her own publications.

Her first series, the Princelings of the East, mystery adventures for advanced readers set in a world of tunnels and castles entirely populated by guinea pigs, is now complete. The tenth and final book, Princelings Revolution, came out in October 2020. Jemima does chapter illustrations for these. She has also edited two volumes of Christmas stories for young readers, the BookElves Anthologies, and her father's memoirs White Water Landings, about the Imperial Airways flying boat service in Africa. She has compiled four collections of flash fiction tales, publishing in the first half of 2021. She is now writing the third in her science fiction series set in the Viridian System, in which the aliens include sentient trees.

Jemima lived in a village in Norfolk with her guinea pigs, the first of whom, Fred, George, Victor and Hugo, provided the inspiration for her first stories, The Princelings of the East. She is now living in Hampshire, writing science fiction for grown-ups, hatching plans for a new series, and writing more short stories for anthologies.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews