Pub. Date:
Green Onions [Bonus Tracks]

Green Onions [Bonus Tracks]

by Booker T. & the MG'sBooker T. & the MG's

CD(Bonus Tracks / Spanish Import)

$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


There's not a note or a nuance out of place anywhere on this record, which featured 35 of the most exciting minutes of instrumental music in any category that one could purchase in 1962 (and it's no slouch multiple decades out, either). "I Got a Woman" is the single best indicator of how superb this record is and this band was -- listening to this track, it's easy to forget that the song ever had lyrics or ever needed them, Booker T. Jones' organ and Steve Cropper's guitar serving as more-than-adequate substitutes for any singer. Their version of "Twist and Shout" is every bit as satisfying. Even "Mo' Onions," an effort to repeat the success of "Green Onions," doesn't repeat anything from the earlier track except the tempo, and Jones and Cropper both come up with fresh sounds within the same framework. "Behave Yourself" is a beautifully wrought piece of organ-based blues that gives Jones a chance to show off some surprisingly nimble-fingered playing, while "Stranger on the Shore" is transformed into a piece of prime soul music in the group's hands. Just when it seems like the album has turned in all of the surprises in repertory that it could reasonably deliver, it ends with "Comin' Home Baby," a killer jazz piece on which Steve Cropper gets to shine, his guitar suddenly animated around Jones' playing, his quietly trilled notes at the crescendo some of the most elegant guitar heard on an R&B record up to that time. [In 2017, a remastered limited edition of Green Onions was released, featuring eight bonus tracks: versions of songs from the album performed by other artists including Ray Charles, Mary Wells, Jackie Wilson, and the Dovells. The set was packaged in a gatefold sleeve.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2017
Label: Imports
UPC: 8437016248751
catalogNumber: 5048762
Rank: 97231


  1. Green Onions
  2. Rinky-Dink
  3. I Got a Woman
  4. Mo' Onions
  5. Twist and Shout
  6. Behave Yourself
  7. Stranger on the Shore
  8. Lonely Avenue
  9. One Who Really Loves You
  10. Can't Sit Down
  11. A Woman, A Lover, A Friend
  12. Comin' Home Baby
  13. Lonely Avenue
  14. I Got a Woman
  15. One Who really Loves You
  16. Rinky-Dink
  17. A Woman, A Lover, A Friend
  18. Twist and Shout
  19. Comin' Home Baby
  20. Can't Sit Down

Album Credits

Customer Reviews