Green Underwear

Green Underwear

by Terence McSweeney


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 6


Green Underwear is the playful autobiographical account of two boys growing up in the Cold War era of the 1950s and 60s. Terence and Timothy McSweeney lived in Hartford, Connecticut during a time when America was shaking off a World War in an era of the modernizing of America. It was the early days of television, Kennedy, super-highways, Mantle and Williams. The country was beginning to stretch its legs as a world power, but to these kids and others it was a time of go-carts, bicycles, and escapades. Green Underwear is the often-times hilarious account of Terence and Timothy, their interesting upbringing and the reflection of post-war values as portrayed by two parents who had noteworthy lives before parenthood. From the first pages the reader travels back to the beginnings of the McSweeney family and what it meant to be Irish. This book is a celebration of a time before social media, laptops, and cell phones. It was a time of fresh air, strict discipline and kids being kids.

It is an observance of the times that bonded a family despite some difficult, economic and social challenges. For these two boys it was a time of discovery and spirited antics that comes with the innocence of childhood. It was a time of adventure.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781647188979
Publisher: Inc
Publication date: 10/05/2020
Pages: 86
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.25(d)

About the Author

Terence McSweeney is a retired middle school teacher of English and Social Studies with a BA in Political Science from Boston College and an MS in Elementary Education from Eastern Connecticut State University. Green Underwear is his second manuscript. His first book Poems & Thoughts is a work of original paintings, poetry, and observations. He is currently writing finishing another work entitled, The Quest to be completed in the summer of 2021.

Table of Contents



1 - "And So, It Begins"

2 - The Race

3 - To Catch a Bird

4 - Liver

5 - These Boots Were Made For Walking

6 - Hockey Players Are Tough

7 - Bring'n the News

8 - The End of the World

9 - Let's Go Sledding!

10 - The Big Game

11 - Mom

12 - Ice Cream Man!

13 - YMCA

14 - Brigade

15 - Revenge Is Best Served Cold

16 - Green Underwear

17 - The Great Christmas Caper

18 - The Times They Are A'Changn

Customer Reviews