by Isaac Hayes


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



The title track employs "Shaft"-like guitar licks, but the similarity ends there: It's a lame attempt at disco done in by Ike's lazy singing and irritatingly banal lyrics. But it's the LP's only sore point. Ike returns to his roots on "Your Loving Is Much Too Strong," a slow, romantic ballad that he and his girls, Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited, make you feel. "Rock Me Easy Baby," a slinky, syncopated shuffle, has more groove appeal than the vaunted "Groove-A-Thon," mainly because Ike constructs it for maximum soul appeal by running it for more than eight exquisite minutes. The uptempo happy-in-love ditty "We've Got a Whole Lot of Love" showcases HBS' sterling voices. Ike shows a different side on the soft, longing "Wish You Were Here," whose horn arrangements and backing vocals are simultaneously enticing and titillating. After a weak opening, the album settles into a comfortable groove, ending splendidly with "Make a Little Love to Me."

Product Details

Release Date: 08/20/2002
Label: Stax
UPC: 0025218860826
catalogNumber: 8608

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Isaac Hayes   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Vocals
Bill Easley   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Emerson Able   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Ben Cauley   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Lewis Collins   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jonathan Davis   Trumpet
Richard Dolph   Horn,French Horn
Bill Flores   Trombone
Willie Hall   Drums,Tambourine
Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited   Background Vocals
Sidney Kirk   Piano,Keyboards
Edgar Matthews   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Bryant Munch   Horn,French Horn
Floyd Newman   Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Gary Russell   Trombone,Bass Trombone
Anthony Shinault   Guitar,Soloist
Darnell Smith   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Lester Snell   Keyboards
Charlie Spitts   Guitar
William Taylor   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Erroll Thomas   Bass,Bass Guitar
Jimmy Thompson   Percussion,Conga
Michael Toles   Guitar
William Vaughn   Guitar,Vocals
Tommy Williams   Saxophone
Jackie Thomas   Trombone
Johnny Davis   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Tommy Williams   Tenor Saxophone
Charles "Skip" Pitts   Guitar
Wilburn "Squiddley" Cole   Drums

Technical Credits

Isaac Hayes   Arranger,Producer,Remixing
Lester Snell   Arranger
Roosevelt Green   Engineer,Remixing
Rob Bowman   Liner Notes
Tom Wilkes   Art Direction
Deb Sibony   Booklet Design
Henry Bush   Engineer,Remixing

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews