by Beck Beck


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 8


While Beck's never been shy about giving his numerous musical personalities their turns in the spotlight, never have they cavorted together like this. Guero finds the singer-songwriter indulging his hip-hop jones (most successfully on the affably dissonant shuffle "Hell Yes") and donning the Prince-ly funk duds he sported circa Midnite Vultures (on the slinky "Earthquake Weather"). Admittedly, that's not a gigantic leap in and of itself, but he also drifts into the sort of off-kilter country blues that lent credibility to his tales of heartland roots ("Farewell Ride") and kicks out the jams like a Camaro-driving rock stud (on the riff-laden "E-Pro"). What's most interesting, though, is his ability to revisit those previously tilled fields and emerge with some fresh fruits -- a byproduct of his ever-evolving lyrical stance, which retains a good bit of Sea Change's melancholy without rehashing that disc's lovelorn tales. The Dust Brothers, who return to Casa de Beck for the first time in ages, also deserve credit for some nifty pop pastiche -- like the Flaming Lips-gone-to-Brazil groove of "Missing" -- that manages to reconcile the downright bizarre and instantly catchy. That these disparate elements work together without inducing whiplash is a testament to Beck's newfound relationship with his audience. The dare-you-to-dance hipster's smirk has been wiped away, replaced by the open smile of the join-our-party reveler.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/29/2005
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0602498639238
catalogNumber: 000348102
Rank: 13865


  1. E-Pro
  2. Qué Onda Guero
  3. Girl
  4. Missing
  5. Black Tambourine
  6. Earthquake Weather
  7. Hell Yes
  8. Rental Car
  9. Broken Drum
  10. Scarecrow
  11. Go It Alone
  12. Farewell Ride
  13. Emergency Exit

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Beck   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Harmonica,Percussion,Piano,Celeste,Drums,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Tambourine,Vocals,12-string Guitar,Moog Synthesizer,Kalimba,Hand Clapping,Slide Guitar,Vocoder,Sounds,Foot Stomping,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Money Mark   Organ
Smokey Hormel   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Joey Waronker   Drums
Petra Haden   Vocals
Dust Brothers   Hand Clapping
Justin Meldal-Johnsen   Bass,Guitar,Bass Guitar
Sean Davis   Bass,Bass Guitar
Roger Manning   Keyboards,Clavinet
Jack White   Bass,Bass Guitar
Charlie Capen   Sounds
Paolo Diaz   Voices
Kurisutina   Voices

Technical Credits

Beastie Boys   Composer
Beck   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements,Art Direction,beats,Audio Production
Eugene Blacknell   Composer
David Campbell   String Arrangements
Mark Hicks   Composer
Eduardo Lyra   Composer
John King   Programming
Mike Simpson   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Dust Brothers   Programming,Producer,Engineer,beats,Audio Production
Kevin Reagan   Art Direction
Tony Hoffer   Producer,Engineer
Jack White   Composer
Marcel Dzama   Artwork
John Stanley King   Producer,Engineer
Brad Breeck   Sound Design
Adam Levite   Artwork,Cover Layout
Danny Kalb   Engineer

Customer Reviews